Live: 70 per cent polling recorded in Udhampur constituency | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Live: 70 per cent polling recorded in Udhampur constituency

With nearly 14 lakh electorate, Udhampur parliamentary constituency in Jammu and Kashmir comprises of 17 assembly seats. A stronghold of Congress over the years, BJP has won this seat only three times from 1996-99. As it goes to poll today, read this section for the live updates of election in Udhampur constituency.

india Updated: Apr 17, 2014 23:10 IST
HT Correpondent

Total 70% polling in Udhampur constituency has been recorded.

68% polling recorded in Udhampur constituency till 5pm.

Udhampur-Doda Lok Sabha constituency witnesses around 61% polling till 3pm.

60% of polling was recorded in Udhampur till 3pm, while Kathua witnessed a polling of 63%. Reasi saw the maximum turnout of 70% till 3pm, while Doda recorded 56% polling. Kishtwar and Ramban witnessed 58% polling.

46.65% voter turnout was recorded in Udhampur till 1pm. While Kathua district recorded a highest voting turnout of 52.62%, 37.22% of voting was witnessed in Doda.

Reasi recorded 50.33% of voting and Udhampur witnessed 49.08% voting till 1pm. The hilly districts of Kishtwar and Ramban recorded 46.52% and 44.16 % respectively.

29.87% voting was witnessed in Udhampur while 30.12% voting was recorded in Reasi district till 11am.
Kathua recorded 29.35% while Doda, Kishtwar and Ramban recorded 22.98%, 27.35% and 27.68% percent of voting respectively.

The polling began with 10.37% turnout witnessed in the constituency till 9am.

Kathua witnessed 11.99% of voting while Reasi witnessed 14.56% of voting till 9am. Meanwhile, voter turnout in Udhampur district was 9.76% and Doda witnessed 8.85% of voting in the first two hours. Hilly areas of Ramban and Kishtwar recorded voter turnout of 10.84 % and 6.25% respectively.

Voting picked up in Udhampur, long queues were witnessed at various polling station.

Despite drizzling, voters were seen coming out to vote at various polling stations in Udhampur.

Airlifting security personnel to far-flung villages, deploying state police and paramilitary troopers, apart from the army manning hills and mountains, marked preparations for Thursday's poll in the Udhampur Lok Sabha constituency.

This constituency consists of hilly areas where militancy is still believed to be far from over.

Over 500 security personnel and polling staff have been airlifted to 37 polling stations that are inaccessible by road because of snow in the Kishtwar district.

As many as 150 companies of paramilitary troopers and nearly 10,000 state police personnel are at the disposal of the authorities to ensure free and fair balloting.

Army units have moved to mountain tops and high areas to prevent any attempt by guerrillas to disrupt the election.

As many as 14.34 lakh voters would vote at 2,051 polling stations. Of these, 93% have been declared hyper-sensitive and sensitive.

There are 13 candidates in the fray. The main contest is between Union Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad of the Congress, Jitender Singh of the BJP and Arshad Malik of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The ruling National Conference (NC) is supporting Azad, the joint candidate of the state's ruling Congress-NC coalition.

Voting started at 7 am and will end at 6 pm.

Here's a map for the constituencies going to polls on Thursday. On searching, you will get details of all parties fighting from a constituency and key candiates there:

Full coverage:

My India my vote

Recommended Section