Today in New Delhi, India
May 25, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Maya brings Kanshi ashes to city today

BAHUJAN SAMAJ Party chief Mayawati will bring the urn containing party founder Kanshi Ram?s ashes to the city on Wednesday.

india Updated: Oct 18, 2006 01:25 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent

BAHUJAN SAMAJ Party chief Mayawati will bring the urn containing party founder Kanshi Ram’s ashes to the city on Wednesday.

While BSP workers have painted the city blue to pay tribute to their late leader, city police have beefed up security from the airport to Ambedkar Maidan, and at the BSP headquarters on Mall Avenue. A large number of BSP workers from different part of the country are likely to descend on the city to pay homage.

Party national spokesman Sudhir Goel said Mayawati would reach Ambedkar Maidan around 11.30 am with the urn. It will remain there for some time and then be taken to the Bahujan Samaj Prerna Kendra on Mall Avenue, where it will kept for “darshan”.

Kanshi Ram had willed that his ashes should not be immersed in the Ganga or the Yamuna. Rather, he wanted them to be kept at the Prerna Kendra.

From Ambedkar Maidan, a procession will pass through the Cantonment area to reach the Prerna Kendra, adjacent to the BSP headquarters. The area was flooded with banners, buntings and welcome arches on Tuesday. Restrictions on the movement of traffic around Mall Avenue have been imposed.

Meanwhile, the railway administration will run special trains on Wednesday to meet the passengers’ rush from different parts of the country.

Following are the timings and the routes of the trains that will leave from Charbagh railway station for different destinations.

Train for Varanasi — departure 5 pm (platform number 9) via Sindurwa-Nihaldah-Sultanpur-Jaunpur-Jaffrabad; for Prayag — departure 5.30 pm (platform number 8) via Bachrawa-Unchahar-Kunda Harnamganj-Phaphamau; for Delhi — departure 7 pm (platform number 7) via Kanpur-Tundla-Etawa-Aligarh-Ghaziabad and for Saharanpur — departure 8.45 pm (platform number 1) via Tundla- Hardoi-Shahjahanpur-Bareilly-Rampur.

First Published: Oct 18, 2006 01:25 IST