Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 12, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mayawati re-elected BSP president

MAYAWATI WAS re-elected to the post of national president of the Bahujan Samaj Party for the second time on Sunday. Delegates from 20 states participated in the election.

india Updated: Aug 28, 2006 00:44 IST

MAYAWATI WAS re-elected to the post of national president of the Bahujan Samaj Party for the second time on Sunday. Delegates from 20 states participated in the election.

After her election, an elated Mayawati announced that her successor would be from her own ‘chamar’ community. “The successor would be 30 to 35 years younger to me,” she said.

“When I grow old and find difficulty in discharging the duties then only I would urge the party to elect my successor. The successor would not be from my family, but would be surely from the ‘chamar’ community that has been exploited for years and are still deprived”, she said.

Asking the party leaders to gearing up for the Vidhan Sabha election, Mayawati announced that the BSP would organise a workers maha-rally in Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal and Punjab. The name of the Vidhan Sabha candidates would be announced in September end, she said.

“With Vidhan Sabha elections approaching, several small political parties are being formed. All the rival leaders know that BSP would form the next government with absolute majority and they are joining hand to check the BSP from coming to power,” she said. She cautioned the party members against the campaign launched by the rival political parties to malign the image of the BSP and its leaders. She directed the party leaders to give a befitting reply to the rival political parties.

Giving clarification about her property as well as of senior leaders, Mayawati said all the landed properties and vehicles purchased in various states had been registered in the name of the party. Directing the party cadre to prepare for the urban local bodies election, Mayawati said the state government was trying to delay the poll, but the state government might be forced to issue the notification under the pressure of the High Court. “The names of the candidates for civic election have been finalised and the list would be issued immediately after the notification of the poll,” she said.

Addressing the party MPs, MLAs, MLCs, Coordinators and members of frontal organisations in the state party office, Mayawati told them that according to the constitution of the BSP a national president was elected for a term of 3 years. “I was elected in September 2003 and my tenure expires next months. The Vidhan Sabha election is virtually knocking on the door. Instead of waiting for the next month we should complete the election of the national president this month alone. Previous year the election was held in Delhi and this time I have decided to hold the election in Lucknow,” she said.

“The delegates have been elected in all the states and they would participate in the election,” she said. The national vice- president of BSP Ambat Rajhan was appointed the returning officer.

Rajhan invited nomination from delegates of each states. UP BSP president Barkhu Ram Verma proposed Mayawati name for national president post and state unit leader Sukhdev Rajbhar seconded the proposal. The state presidents of Punjab, Uttaranchal, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Delhi, Haryana, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Orissa, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh too proposed the name of Mayawati for national president post.

Rajhan announced that election of Mayawati on the president post was unopposed and unanimous. All 975 delegates from 20 states supported Mayawati, he said.

First Published: Aug 28, 2006 00:44 IST