Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MPs rebellion galore in all parties

About a dozen odd MPs are brazenly supporting candidates of political parties they oppose on the floor of the Lok Sabha, reports Masoodul Hasan.

india Updated: Apr 04, 2007 20:32 IST
Masoodul Hasan
Masoodul Hasan

This happens only in the hurly burly of UP politics. About a dozen odd MPs are brazenly supporting candidates of political parties they oppose on the floor of the Lok Sabha.

Caught in what is being dubbed as the unique "Beni phenomenon', are the three major parties, Congress, BSP and the Samajwadi Party. The MPs did not quit their Lok Sabha seats while parting their ways with their parent parties. Beni Prasad Verma remains Samajwadi Party MP from Qaiserganj in the Lok Sabha even after he floated Samajwadi Kranti Dal to oppose his one time mentor, chief minister Mulayam Singh Yadav. Significantly the party high command has also not expelled him for his anti-party activities. And this piquant situation has occurred for the first time at such a large scale.

They have indeed parted ways with their parties for greener pasture elsewhere. Others who fall in Beni's league are Raj Babbar (Agra) Dr Shafiqur Rahman Barq (Moradabad) and Munwwar Hasan (Muzaffarnagar), The BSP too has been bugged by rebellion.

The BSP’s MPs Esam Singh (Rajya Sabha), Rama Kant Yadav (Azamgarh), Bhal Chand Yadav (Khalilabad) and Shahid Akhlaq (Meerut) have been openly working for the SP in assembly election. The BSP chief Mayawati has already suspended all the rebels MPs from the party. But the SP has not any taken against its MPs.

Interestingly despite being in SP, two rebels Beni Verma and Raj Babbar even have floated their political outfit and have fielded candidates. Dr Barq has been campaigning for the Rashtriya Lok Dal as the RLD has fielded his son Mamlukur Rahman Barq from Sambhal. Munawwar Hasan has also joined the RLD. Elder Barq told


that he could not support SP nominee Iqbal Masood from Sambhal. Munawwar Hasan left the party accusing the chief minister of not looking after the interest of the Muslim community.

It all started with SP MP Raj Babbar coming out against Yadav and general secretary Amar Singh. While Babbar joined VP Singh’s bandwagon last year against his party, Beni Prasad Verma, after nearly 33 years association with Yadav, raised banner of revolt against the party leadership over the distribution of tickets in Barabanki and Bahraich. He also wanted action against the Labour Minister Dr Waqar Ahmad Shah for anti-party activities in Bahraich.

But SP succeeded in winning over Congress Rajya Sabha member from MP Obaidullah Azmi and Natwar Singh, whose terms are expiring next year. Azmi accused the Congress of deviating from secularism. Azmi said SP was the only force to fight against communal forces in UP. Both have been campaign along with Amar Singh in the state.

First Published: Apr 04, 2007 20:26 IST