Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 21, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Pak add rookie leg-spinner to squad

Pakistan have added Mansoor Amjad, a rookie 19-year-old leg spinner, to their squad for the second and final Test against South Africa.

india Updated: Oct 21, 2003 13:43 IST

Pakistan have added Mansoor Amjad, a rookie 19-year-old leg spinner, to their squad for the second and final test against South Africa in Faisalabad starting on Friday.

Amjad's inclusion in the squad, despite the presence of the two experienced leg spinners Mushtaq Ahmed and Danish Kaneria, is a clear indication that the Pakistan selectors are keen to build on the success of the spinners in the first test.

Pakistan won by eight wickets on the fifth day of the first test on Tuesday for their first home test win over South Africa.

Amjad, who comes from the central Punjab city of Sialkot, has yet to play any first class match although he played in all three matches of the recent Emerging Trophy Tournament in Sri Lanka.

Pakistan Cricket Board spokesman Samiul Hasan said Amjad had been added to the 18-man squad because he was a promising youngster with a lot of potential.

Amjad has played in seven one-day domestic games taking seven wickets.

Hasan also said all rounder Abdul Razzaq had been included in the second test squad that does not include Yousuf Youhana, who has been ruled out with a hamstring injury.

In Yousuf's place Pakistan's most experienced batsman and regular captain, Inzamam-ul-Haq returns.

The Pakistan selectors have retained fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar despite a three-match ban and fitness problems.

His appeal against the ban, for using bad language during an incident involving Paul Adams on the first day of the first test, is due to be heard by an International Cricket Council commission headed by former Australian test captain Richie Benaud this week.

Pakistan squad: Inzamam-ul-Haq (Capt), Taufeeq Umar, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Asim Kamal, Shoaib Malik, Moin Khan, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Danish Kaneria, Mansoor Amjad, Faisal Iqbal, Salman Butt, Misbah-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal.

First Published: Oct 21, 2003 13:43 IST