Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind


Patna constituency has emerged as a stronghold of BJP's CP Thakur over the last few elections.

india Updated: Apr 19, 2004 14:24 IST

Comprising six assembly segments, the prestigious Patna constituency has emerged as a stronghold of Padma Shri and senior BJP leader Union Minister CP Thakur over the last few elections.

A physician by profession, Thakur drubbed Ram Kripal Yadav of Rashtriya Janata Dal by 52606 votes in 1999 in a 18-cornered contest. Thakur contested the 1995 assembly election on a Congress ticket from here and had lost to CPI's Ramnath Yadav by just 336 votes.

In 1998 Thakur defeated Ram Kripal Yadav by 52606 votes in 1998 in a 18-cornered contest.

Thakur, who had won the seat in 1984 on a Congress ticket, lost to BJP's Shailendra Nath Srivastava in 1989. The constituency was represented by Ramavatar Shastri (CPI) in 1980 while BLD candidate Mahamaya Prasad Sinha had won it in 1977 Janata Party wave.

Ramkripal Yadav had won as a Janata Dal nominee in 1996 Lok Sabha polls, defeating BJP's SN Arya by 39,000 votes. He had the won the seat in 1993 also.

Dominated by Kayasthas, Patna poll results have also been influenced Yadavs, Kurmi and Bhumihars who have a sizeable presence here.

With about 1600000 voters, Patna Lok Sabha constituency comprises six assembly segments of Patna West, Patna Central, Patna East, Danapur, Phulwari and Vikram. The last two are represented by non-BJP parties while the rest are with BJP.

First Published: Mar 26, 2004 18:53 IST