New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 28, 2020-Monday



Select Country
Select city

Pawar, Morgan in ICC race

The cricket board chiefs of India and England are in race to succeed Percy Sonn as president of the ICC.

india Updated: Jan 03, 2007 20:04 IST

England and Indian cricket board chiefs are in the running to succeed South Africa's Percy Sonn as president of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The ICC had received the nominations of England and Wales Cricket Board Chairman David Morgan and Indian board president Sharad Pawar, it said in a statement. The deadline was December 31.

A nominations committee will make its recommendation at the next ICC executive board meeting in March.

The board will then make its recommendation to the ICC annual conference in London in June where a vote will be held. A candidate must secure the support of two-thirds of the 10 full members or test-playing nations to be elected.

Sonn began his two-year term in July last year and the ICC has the option of extending it to a third year. His successor will take over in 2008 if the ICC elects not to exercise that option.

Sign In to continue reading