'Red alert' for fourth phase of UP polls | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 19, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

'Red alert' for fourth phase of UP polls

There is “red alert” in nine constituencies, as each segment has more than four candidates facing criminal cases, reports M Hasan.

india Updated: Apr 19, 2007 15:48 IST
M Hasan

With criminals and millionaires ruling the roost in UP state assembly elections, there is no dearth of this section even in the fourth phase of polling due on April 23.

There is “red alert” in nine constituencies, as each segment has more than four candidates facing criminal cases.

Similarly, 45 candidates have declared their assets more than Rs one crore, says UP Election Watch report released here on Thursday.

The convenor of the UPEW and former DGP IC Dwevidi said that of the total 922 candidates in the fray in fourth phase, criminal cases were pending against 116 contestants.

He said while the BSP was ahead in fielding candidates with criminal background in first and second phases, the SP had taken lead in third and fourth phases.

He said “it shows the level of dependence of political parties on such candidates and their belief that having pending cases adds to the winnability factor of such candidates."

While in fourth phase the SP has fielded 27 candidates facing criminal cases, BJP has 16, Congress 15, BSP 12, Rashtriya Lok Dal six.

Smaller parties have 24 such contestants. The UPEW has identified Naugarh, Nighasan, Balrampur, Mehndawal, Biswan, Gainsari, Domariaganj, Itwa, Shoratgarh as “red alert” zone as more than four candidates with crime record in each segment are in the fray.

In the category of those facing more than five criminal cases are Sameeulla Khan (BSP-Utraula), Sunderlal Dixit (BJP-Haidergarh), Atul Kumar (RLD-Kaisarganj), Rampal Rajvanshi (SP-Machhrehata), Vinay Kumar Pandey (Congress-Balrampur), Radhey Shyam Jaiswal (SP-Sitapur), Shushil (Congress-Mankapur), Israr Ahmad (RSL-Biswan), Naved Mustafa (RLD-Rudauli), Sanjay Chaudhury (BJP-Ramnagar), Ved Prakash (BJP-Menhdawal), Ram Darash (CPML-Nighasan), Dileep Kumar (IJP- Mahsi), Ajay Pratap Singh (Cong-Colonelganj), and Nirvendra Kumar (RLD-Nighasan).

Dwividi said while Congress nominee from Colonelganj Ajay Pratap had emerged as the richest with declared assets worth Rs 31.86 crore, SP has 12 “crorepatis”, BSP, 9, BJP 7 and Congress six.

He said Singh also had “distinction of being the candidate highest liability”. Apart from Ajay Pratap, other richest candidates are Samar Singh (Rs 20 crore), Mohd Tabis Khan (Rs 9.47 crore), Daya Shankar (Rs 6.62 crore), Sangram Singh (Rs 5.69 crore), Jai Pratap Singh (Rs 4.40 crore), Arun Veer Singh (Rs 3.17 crore), Radhe Shyam (Rs 3.04 crore), Ravind Pratap (Rs 2.79 crore) and Anil Singh (Rs 2.20 crore). There are 14 nominees who have no assets, including BJP’s Kalpnath Sonkar (Nagar east-Basti) Interestingly of the total 922 candidates, 735 did not have PAN. Dwividi said among all the main parties there was a trend to field candidates with the age group of 41-60 years and educationally they were graduate and above.

He said 18 candidates with a loan liability of more than Rs four lakh did not have PAN.