Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sania, Adoor among Padma awardees

Nine Padma Vibhushan, 36 Padma Bhushan and 61 Padma Shri were announced. No Bharat Ratna this year.

india Updated: Jan 26, 2006 09:59 IST

Tennis star Sania Mirza, eminent Gandhian Nirmala Deshpande, noted film maker Adoor Gopalakrishnan, prominent writer Mahasveta Devi, Ghazal singer Pankaj Udhas and herbal cosmetics queen Shenaz Hussain are among 106 prominent personalities named on Wednesday for thePadma Awards for this year on the eve of the 57th Republic Day.

In all, nine people have been chosen for Padma Vibhushan, 36 for Padma Bhushan and 61 for Padma Shri. No one has been named for Bharat Ratna, the nation's highest civilian honour.

Tennis sensation Sania Mirza has been chosen for Padma Shree while veteran actor AK Hangal and defence analyst Air Commadore Jasjit Singh are to be conferred Padma Bhushan.

Infosys CEO Nandan Nilekani and industrialist turned aviation enthusiast Vijayapat Singhania have been chosen for Padma Bhushan in science and sports category respectively.

Eminent scientist and father of the 'green revolution' Norman Borlaug, former Chief Justice of India Justice VN Khare, Jnanpith award winner litereateur Mahasveta Devi, prominent architect Charles Correa and Gandhian Nirmala Deshpande are among nine personalities who would receive Padma Vibhushan at a function at the Rashtrapati Bhavan by President APJ Abdul Kalam later this year.

Ghazal singer Pankaj Udhas, Shahnaz Husain, tiger conservationist Billy Arjun Singh, artist Kanaka Srinivasan, social worker Sudha Murthy will be conferred Padma Shree along with eminent journalists Mrinal Pande and Sucheta Dalal.

First Published: Jan 26, 2006 09:59 IST