Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

South Asia wins cricket World Cup bid

India, Pak, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh collectively won the bid to host the 2011 World Cup, defeating a joint bid by Australia and NZ.

india Updated: May 06, 2006 19:07 IST

Asia on Sunday won the bid to host the 2011 cricket World Cup, defeatinga joint bid by Australia and New Zealand.

The Asian Test playing nations—India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh—bagged 10 out of the 13 votes, well above the required majority of 7, at the ICC Executive Board meeting in Dubai.

"We did a great job, the four countries put together an impressive presentation and we got 10 out of 13 votes," BCCI Vice President Lalit Modi said.

"We are looking forward to it. A lot of work has to go in. The four countries will jointly sit down along with ICC to chalk out plans for hosting the 2011 World Cup," he said.

"A lot of infrastructure needs to be put in place. We are mentally geared up for it. We will do the task at hand," he said.

First Published: May 06, 2006 19:07 IST