Thumping win clears SL's way to finals
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Thumping win clears SL's way to finals

In a do-or-die match, Lanka scored 257 for nine then dismissed the Proteas for 181 in the 44th over to post a comfortable win.

india Updated: Feb 08, 2006 16:38 IST
Agence France-Presse
Agence France-Presse

Sri Lanka beat South Africa by 76 runs at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on Tuesday to book their place in the triangular one-day series finals with Australia.

With everything at stake in the last preliminary match, Sri Lanka scored 257 for nine then dismissed the Proteas for 181 in the 44th over to post a comfortable win.

Marvan Atapattu (80) and Kumar Sangakkara (62) both scored half-centuries for Sri Lanka while South African captain Graeme Smith top-scored with 67 for the Proteas, who lost their last three matches to miss out on the finals.

Sri Lankan super-sub Malinga Bandara was named man of the match after taking four wickets for 31 runs from nine overs.

The first final between Australia and South Africa will take place in Adelaide on Friday with the second match scheduled for Sydney on Sunday. A third match, if required, will be held in Brisbane next Tuesday.


Sri Lanka: MarvanAtapattu c Hall v van der Wath 80, Sanath Jayasuriya b Pollock 25, Kumar Sangakkara c Dippenaar v van Der Wath 62, Mahela Jayawardene lbw b Hall 11, Jehan Mubarak c Prince b Hall 14, Tillakaratne Dilshan b Hall 30, Chamara Kapugedera b Botha 3, Chaminda Vaas c Botha b Langeveldt 5, Muttiah Muralitharan c Botha b Langeveldt 1, Dilhara Fernando not out 1, Ruchira Perera not out 1, Extras (b-3, lb-5, w-12, nb-4) 24, TOTAL: (for nine wickets, 50 overs) 257.

Fall of wkts: 1-52, 2-175, 3-190, 4-207, 5-212, 6-220, 7-229, 8-241,9-254.

Bowling: Shaun Pollock 10-0-35-1, Dale Steyn 3-0-32-0, Andrew Hall 10-0-50-3, Charl Langeveldt 10-0-47-2, Johan van der Wath 9-1-41-2, Graeme Smith 3-0-19-0, Johan Botha 5-0-25-1.

South Africa: Graeme Smith c Muralitharan b Bandara 67, Boeta Dippenaar lbw b Vaas 9, Herschelle Gibbs c&b Vaas 0, Mark Boucher b Fernando 24, Ashwell Prince c and b Bandara 22, Justin Kemp lbw b Bandara 0, Shaun Pollock c Sangakkara b Bandara 15, Andrew Hall not out 18, Johan van der Wath b Muralitharan 0, Johan Botha c Kapugedera b Jayasuriya 17, Charl Langeveldt c Mubarak b Dilshan 1, Extras (lb-3, w-4, nb-1) 8, TOTAL (all out, 43.4 overs) 181.

Fall of wikts: 1-19, 2-19, 3-77, 4-113, 5-114, 6-137, 7-146, 8-147, 9-178.

Bowling: Chaminda Vaas 7-3-17-2, Ruchira Perera 6-0-40-0, Dilhara Fernando 7-1-32-1, Muttiah Muralitharan 8-0-28-1, Tillakaratne Dilshan 4.4-0-23-1, Malinga Bandara 9-0-31-4, Sanath Jayasuriya 2-0-7-1.

Umpires: Mark Benson, England, Daryl Harper, Australia. Match referee: Jeff Crowe, New Zealand; TV umpire: Bob Parry, Australia.

First Published: Feb 07, 2006 09:01 IST