Umpire bungling leaves India fuming
Bruce Oxenford, whether by choice or accident, did the unthinkable at The Gabba when he first wrongly adjudged Mike Hussey out before quickly overturning his decision. Amol Karhadkar reports.india Updated: Feb 19, 2012 23:47 IST
If running a red light is illegal, it is unpardonable for a third umpire to turn it on the field when it's not supposed to be. And Bruce Oxenford, whether by choice or accident, did the unthinkable at The Gabba when he first wrongly adjudged Mike Hussey out before quickly overturning his decision.
The bungling comes after India played one delivery less in their tied game against Sri Lanka, where the on-field umpire declared an over after Malinga had bowled only five deliveries.
On Sunday, Hussey missed after a tentative front-foot push off Raina in the 29th over and Dhoni claimed a stumping. It was referred to the third umpire and replays made it clear that a part of Hussey's back foot was behind the line. But the red light flashed and the giant scoreboard displayed 'out'.
Hussey started walking back amidst booing from the crowd when the light turned green and on-field umpire Billy Bowden ran after the batsman to recall him.
But Dhoni was understandably furious and the skipper seemed to tell the umpires what he thought of it. "I just told them it is difficult to be an umpire if you are in the field but if you are sitting in an air-conditioned room and have the luxury of having the replays in front of you and take whatever time you want to, then if you are supposed to decide, the umpire should take maybe one more minute to press the right button," Dhoni said.
Although the host broadcaster claimed it was a case of 'wrong wiring', it seemed as if Oxenford erred in pressing the button.
First Published: Feb 19, 2012 23:45 IST