West Indies cruise to an easy win
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

West Indies cruise to an easy win

Chasing 162 runs to win, Caribbeans romp home against Bangladesh riding on Gayle's unbeaten century. Scorecard

india Updated: Oct 12, 2006 11:31 IST

Defending champions West Indies completed formalities asthey romped home with an easy 10-wicket victory over minnows Bangladesh in the 4th of the qualifying matches in Jaipur on Wednesday.

Chasing a meagre target of 162 after an inspired bowling performance by the Caribbean bowlers that saw Bangladesh collapse to a dismal position, Chris Gayle ripped apart the Bangla attack, smashing a cracking ton in the process.

The southpaw, who finished at 104 not out, put on a mammoth opening stand with dogged-as-ever Chanderpaul (52 not out), ensuring there were no hiccups in offing.

With their second thumping win, West Indies secured a berth in the main draw of the ICC Champions Trophy.

West Indies innings

Gayle, Chanderpaul kicked off the Windies' innings knowing fully well that an upset win by Bangladesh could have made things difficult for the reigning champions.

However, there were no surprises in store as man-of-the-match brought the scarcely-crowded stadium on its feet as he hit his 13th one-day hundred, studded with 11 fours and three sixes.

The Jamaican, playing in his 145th match, made a composed start before launching into the minnows' bowling. After reaching the fifty-mark, Gayle waded into the opposition attack, lifting two sixes off Mohammad Rafique in successive overs, and then one more of Aftab Ahmed which disappeared out of the ground.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul played the supporting cast with 52 not out in the unbroken opening stand.

Bangladesh innings

Bangladesh surrendered to much superiorWest Indian bowlers who ripped apart the minnows' line up, skittling them out for a paltry 161 in 46.3 overs.

Samuels dived to take Syed Rasel's wicket off Taylor's delivery, departing himcheaply for three, while Khaled Mashud remained put at 22.

Continuing his mighty spell, Bravo picked up the third wicket when he had Abdur Razzaq caught behind by Baugh for just nine runs.

Bangladesh's dismal collapse continued as Mortaza was caught and bowled by Bravo. The Windies bowler debunked the eighth wicket, showcasing his agility with the ball.

Just as it had started to appear that Bangladesh will make up for their sequent fall of wickets and level with the impetus set by the top-order, Gibbs and Bravo shared another two wickets.

Chris Gayle also joined the party as he trapped Mohammad Rafique leg before for seven.

Farhad Reza, who was dropped by wicketkeeper Carlton Baugh when on four, was bowled by Dwayne Bravo for seven.

Adding insult to injury, Samuels forced Aftab Ahmed to leave the crease at 59. Chanderpaul grabbed a welcoming catch, ending Aftab's telling spell and leaving Bangladesh's hopes in doldrums.

Collymore trampled the Asian's side by deporting Saqibul Hasan and Habibul Bashar back to the pavillion, each for a duck.

Shahriar was caught by Gayle off Samuel's ball, leaving the onus on Aftab to continue a potent effort. He departed at a score of 38.

After an impressive second-wicket partnership, Bangladesh lostfive quick wickets. In a span ofsix overs, Bangladeshslipped down from 92/1 to 111/6.

Following aheady start, Bangladesh batsmen failed to keep the momentum going as Collymore and Samuels grabbed two wickets each to disrupt the flow of boundaries.

Taking lead after Ashraful's early exit, Bangladesh batsman Aftab, however hit his seventh ODI ton. But soon after he fell to Samuels for 59, giving a simple catch to Chandrapaul at long on.

Bangladesh lost their first wicket early as their opener Ashrafulwastrappedplumb in front for two runs.

Earlier, Bangladesh captain Habibul Bashar won the toss and elected to bat against West Indies in the fourth qualifying match of the ICC Champions Trophy at Jaipur on Wednesday.

A West Indies victory will put them through to the main competition while Bangladesh have to win to keep their hopes alive.

Bangladesh squad remains unchanged while West Indies have replaced Dwayne Smith byCorey Collymore.


Bangladesh: Shahriar Nafees, Mohammad Ashraful, Aftab Ahmed, Saqibul Hasan, Habibul Bashar, Farhad Reza, Khaled Mashud, Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel

West Indies: CH Gayle, S Chanderpaul, RR Sarwan, BC Lara, MN Samuels, DJ Bravo, WW Hinds, CS Baugh, IDR Bradshaw, JE Taylor, CD Collymore

 Windies ready to defend crown
 West Indies register easy victory
 Lanka clinch easy win over Bangladesh

First Published: Oct 11, 2006 14:07 IST