Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPL 2017: Hyderabad to host final, no reserve day for playoffs

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced Hyderabad as venue for the IPL final on May 21; Bangalore will host two playoffs while Mumbai will host one.

ipl 2017 Updated: Apr 02, 2017 21:52 IST
IPL 2017,Indian Premier League,Hyderabad
The IPL 2017 final will be held in Hyderabad, home of defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad.(PTI)

Hyderabad will host the final of the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Sunday.

Read more | Mustafizur Rahman expected to arrive on April 7: Sunrisers coach Tom Moody

The IPL, which will run from April 5 to May 21, will see Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium hosting Qualifier 1, the first match in the knockout stage on May 16.

Bangalore will host two knockout matches -- the Eliminator (May 17) and the Qualifier 2 on May 19.

Read more | Rohit Sharma ends frustrating injury break, ready to hit IPL high

“A reserve day is available for the Final but not the other three playoff matches,” said the BCCI statement.

The first qualifier is played between the top two teams of the league stage. The winners enter the summit clash while the losing team takes on the winners of the Eliminator -- played between the third and fourth placed teams -- for the other final slot in the Qualifier 2.

First Published: Apr 02, 2017 21:21 IST