Election Results 2019: TDP, YSRCP slug it out in Visakhapatnam constituency

The main fight in the former Congress stronghold of Visakhapatnam was expected to be between the TDP and the YSRCP.
Election Results 2019: Kambhampati Hari Babu of the BJP was the sitting MP of Visakhapatnam.(HT PHOTO)
Election Results 2019: Kambhampati Hari Babu of the BJP was the sitting MP of Visakhapatnam.(HT PHOTO)
Updated on May 23, 2019 04:21 PM IST
Copy Link
By HT Correspondent

Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh is spread across Vizianagaram and Visakhapatnam districts used to be a Congress stronghold from where the grand old party had won nine times, the last of which was in 2009.

In 2014, the BJP which then had an alliance with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) won the seat with Kambhampati Hari Babu defeating Y.S Vijayamma of the YSRCP by over 90,000 votes. It was one of the two Lok Sabha seats the BJP won in Andhra Pradesh in 2014. The BJP has named former Union minister D Purandeswari as its candidate this time.

Click here for Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

Click here for Election results 2019 Coverage

Click here for full Lok Sabha elections 2019 Coverage

But the main fight was expected to be between TDP candidate M Sri Bharat and YSRCP’s MVV Satyanarayana only. The TDP has won the seat thrice since it debuted in 1984. But, currently YSRCP’s MVV Satyanarayana is leading in the constituency.

The Congress had named Pedada Ramani Kumari, chief of its women’s wing in Visakhapatnam as its candidate. The Jana Sena party had nominated former CBI joint director VV Lakshminarayana as its candidate. Lakshminarayana joined the party recently.

According to the 2011 census, out of a total population of 2237952, 19.26% is rural and 80.74% is urban population. The Scheduled castes (SC) and Scheduled tribes (ST) ratio is 8.7 and 1.57, respectively out of total population.

Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency in numbers:

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Visakhapatnam

Date of polling: April 11

2019 candidates: D Purandeshwari (BJP), Ramana Kumari Pedada (Congress),

MVV Satyanarayana (YSR Congress Party), MV Sribharat (TDP)

Sitting MP, Party: Kambhampati Hari Babu, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 90,488 votes

Runner up name, party: Y.S Vijayamma, YSRC

Number of voters in 2014: 1,723,037

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 68

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1785

Number of women voters: 847,850

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, October 28, 2021