Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 18, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Ernakulam, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Ernakulam, Kerala.

constituency watch Updated: Mar 17, 2019 13:08 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Ernakulam Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Ernakulam Profile,Kerala Ernakulam General Elections 2019
Polling officers check electronic voting machines (EVM) at an EVM distribution centre.(Burhaan Kinu/HT Photo)

Ernakulam is considered to be an invincible fortress of the United Democratic Front even though the Left ideology is also very prevalent here.

The Ernakulam Lok Sabha constituency is made up of seven assembly segments.

Since 1957, when it broke away from the Travancore-Cochin constituency, the Ernakulam Lok Sabha Constituency has regularly voted for the Congress. In the 2009 and 2014 elections, the constituency voted for the Congress candidate KV Thomas, defeating Christy Fernandez, an independent candidate by more than 85,000 votes.

Thomas who has been contesting and winning elections from here since 1984 has not been fielded this time by the Congress from the constituency. The party has instead fielded Hibi Eden and has rested Thomas.

the CPI(M) has named P Rajeev as its candidate from Ernakulam.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Ernakulam Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Ernakulam

Sitting MP, Party: KV Thomas, Congress

Winning margin in 2014: 87,047

Runner up name, party: Christy Fernandez, Independent

Number of voters in 2014: 850,910

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 76

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,019

Number of women voters: 4,22,269

First Published: Mar 17, 2019 13:08 IST