New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 15, 2019-Sunday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Sunday, Sep 15, 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Uttara Kannada, Karnataka

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Uttara Kannada, Karnataka

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 15, 2019 14:40 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Election Commission staff sealing the EVMS after an election.
Election Commission staff sealing the EVMS after an election.(Hindustan Times)

Uttara Kannada is one of the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies of Karnataka. Till 2008, it was known as the Kanara Lok Sabha constituency. After the delimitation exercise of 2008, in which the Ankola legislative assembly segment was abolished and a new legislative assembly segment - Yellapur - was formed, the Lok Sabha seat came to be known as the Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha constituency.

Mostly a BJP bastion since 1996, the constituency has always sent Ananthkumar Hegde to the Lok Sabha except in 1999, when it elected Congress’s Margaret Alva.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the Uttara Kannada constituency elected BJP’s Ananthkumar Hegde over Congress’s Prashant R Deshpande by a margin of nearly 1,50,000 votes.

Read: All you need to know about Karnataka

The Congress and JD(S) have tied up in an alliance in the state and as part of the seat sharing, the Congress has decided to leave the Tumkur seat for the HD Deve Gowda-led JD(S).

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Karnataka

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Uttara Kannada

Date of voting: April 23

2019 candidates: Anand Asnotikar (JD-S), Ananth Kumar Hegde (BJP)

Sitting MP, Party: Ananthkumar Hegde, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 140,700

Runner up name, party: Prashant R Deshpande, INC

Number of voters in 2014: 1,001,470

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 76

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,863

Number of women voters: 479,497

First Published: Mar 14, 2019 09:31 IST