Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 16, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Prabhu gets RS ticket from Andhra, Akbar shifted to MP

nation Updated: May 31, 2016 07:56 IST

NEW DELHI: The BJP has given a Rajya Sabha ticket to railway minister Suresh Prabhu from Andhra Pradesh and shifted journalist-politician MJ Akbar from Jharkhand to Madhya Pradesh.

In its second list of six candidates, the BJP also gave a ticket to party vice president Vinay Sahashrabuddhe and Dr Vikas Mahatme from Maharashtra. Mahatme is a Nagpur based ophthalmologist who had the RSS backing.

Uttar Pradesh BJP’s vice president Shiv Pratap Shukla, a former minister, will be party’s candidate in country’s most populous state. Jharkhand BJP’s treasurer Mahesh Poddar will be party’s candidate for the second seat in the tribal state where it is short of number to win the second seat.

In its first list of 12 candidates on Saturday, the BJP had repeated its minister but had to change their state. M Venkaiah Naidu, a three-time MP from Karnaktaka, was given a ticket from Rajasthan while Nirmala Sitharaman was shifted from Andhra Pradesh to Karnataka.

Piyush Goyal got it from his home state of Maharashtra, but Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi was shifted from Uttar Pradesh to Jharkhand. Union minister Venkaiah Naidu, BJP national vice-president Om Prakash Mathur, BJP leader and Union minister of state Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and former BJP MP Ram Jethmalani were among BJP candidates who filed their nomination papers on Monday. Congress candidates Kapil Sibal and Ambika Soni also filed their nominations. RJD leader and Lalu Prasad’s daughter Misa Bharti also filed her nomination.

First Published: May 31, 2016 07:56 IST