Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Felipe Drugovich wins 2017 MRF Challenge as Presley Martono, Rinus van Kalmthout take honours

Felipe Drugovich was crowned 2017 MRF Challenge winner despite finishing third and sixth in the two races on Saturday in Chennai.

other sports Updated: Feb 03, 2018 19:41 IST
Ankit Kumar Singh
Ankit Kumar Singh
Hindustan Times, Chennai
Felipe Drugovich,MRF Challenge,Presley Martono
Presley Martono, Rinus van Kalmthout and Felipe Drugovich (L-R) on the podium in Chennai.(HT Photo)

On a day that saw cars spinning and crashing, ‘Flying Dutchman’ Rinus van Kalmthout and Indonesian Presley Martono earned top honours in the concluding round of the MRF Challenge at the Madras Motor Racing Track here on Saturday.

While Rinus clocked 30:22.676 to finish first in the Race 1, Martono recorded 22:50.733 to bag No.1 position in Race 2.

READ | Life comes full circle for 2017 MRF Challenge winner Felipe Drugovich

The championship, however, was secured by Brazilian driver Felipe Drugovich, who finished third and sixth in the two races, but gained enough points to clinch the crown with two races to go.

The day also witnessed chaos at the start of the second race. At Turn 2, Venezuela’s Manuel Maldonado, Singapore’s Pavan Ravishankar and Indonesia’s Perdana Minang collided and saw their cars getting crashed.

France’s Julien Falchero was forced to retire after making contact with van Kalmthout. There was more action as race leader Alex Karkosik of Poland spun out of the lead. The race was red flagged on Lap 2 with five cars going out of the race.

READ | Presley Martono takes pole position in MRF Challenge season finale

When the race was restarted, Singapore’s Danial Frost took the early lead. He maintained it till the 11th lap before making a mistake and running wide which allowed Martono and van Kalmthout to overtake him. Martono went on to win the race from there.


Race 1: Rinus van Kalmthout – 30:22.676, Presley Martono – 30:29.174, Felipe Drugovich – 30:31.552

Race 2: Presley Martono – 22:50.733, Rinus Van Kalmthout – 22.52.713, Danial Frost – 22:54.318

First Published: Feb 03, 2018 19:39 IST