Sarita Devi, Sonia Lather enter finals of National Women’s Boxing
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sarita Devi, Sonia Lather enter finals of National Women’s Boxing

Sarita Devi and Sonia Lather both made it to the finals of their respective weight divisions at the National Women’s Boxing on Thursday

other sports Updated: Jan 11, 2018 23:51 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Rohtak
National Women’s Boxing,Laishram Sarita Devi,Sonia Lather
Sarita Devi has made it to the final of the 60 kg division at the National Women’s Boxing.(Twitter)

Former world and Asian champion Laishram Sarita Devi (60kg) and world silver-medallist Sonia Lather (57kg) advanced to the finals of the National Women’s Boxing Championships here today.

Sarita defeated Haryana’s Monika 5-0 to set up a clash with Railways Sports Promotion Board’s Pavitra. Pavitra got the better of Uttarakhand’s Priyanka Choudhary 5-0.

Sonia, on the other hand, defeated All India Police’s Sandhya Rani 5-0. She will be up against reigning youth world champion Shashi Chopra, who edged past Andhra Pradesh’s Sonia.

Former world silver-medallist Sarjubala Devi (48kg) also entered the finals, beating RSPB’s Meenakshi.

However, it was curtains for former junior world champion Nikhat Zareen (48kg), who lost to Haryana-girl Ritu in a split verdict.

Results (Semi Finals):

Light Fly (45 - 48 KG): Monika (Har) bt K. Bina Devi (Man) 5:0; Rajesh Narwal (RSPB) bt Varsha Choudhery (UP) 5:0;

Fly (48 -51 KG): Sh Sarju Bala (Man) bt Meenakshi (RSPB) 4:1; Ritu (Har) bt Nikhat Zareen (Tel) 4:1;

Bantam (51 - 54 KG): Manisha (Har) bt Shavinder Kaur Sindhu (Pun) 3:2; Meena Kumari (AIP) bt Jamuna Boro (Asm) 5:0;

Feather (54 - 57 KG): Sonia Lather (RSPB) bt Sandhya Rani (AIP) 5:0; Shashi Chopra (Har) bt Sonia (AP) 3:2;

Light (57 - 60 KG): L Sarita Devi (AIP) bt Monika (Har) 5:0; Pavitra (RSPB) bt Priyanka Choudhary (Utk) 5:0;

Light Welter (60 - 64 KG): Pwilao Basumatary (RSPB) bt Poonam (AIP) 5:0.

First Published: Jan 11, 2018 19:30 IST