Vishnu Prasad, Joseph Mathew hold on to lead in National Racing Championship

Vishnu Prasad and Joseph Mathew, both from Chennai, held on to their respective leads at the National Racing Championship in Coimbatore on Sunday

other sports Updated: Aug 06, 2017 22:27 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
National Racing Championship,JK Tyre National Racing Championship,Vishnu Prasad
The winners of the Round 2 of the JK Tyre Suzuki Gixxer Cup hold aloft their trophies.(HT Photo)

Despite enduring a mixed weekend, Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad held on to his lead in the Euro JK 17 after Round 2 of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship in Coimbatore on Sunday.

Chennai’s Joseph Mathew too clung on to his position at the top of the table in the JK Tyre Suzuki Gixxer Cup, extending his winning streak to four in four races.

In the Red Bull Road to Rookie Cup, Sri Lanka’s Jaden Gunawardene continued to dominate, winning with a comfortable three-second margin. But as he is not eligible to win the title, Aizawl’s Lalhruaizela stayed ahead in the championship race with 38 points.

READ | Vishnu Prasad lights opening day of National Racing Championship

The LGB Formula 4 saw a dramatic turn of events with leader from Round 1, Chittesh Mandody, slipping to 15th place despite winning Race 1. He was penalised 30 seconds for an infringement which handed the victory to Sandeep Kumar (Dark Don Racing). The second spot went to Vishnu (MSport), while Raghul Rangasamy came in third.

Race 2 also saw the result sheet going topsy-turvy, with two drivers from the Dark Don Racing team, including winner Diljith TS, being disqualified for not complying with homologation. That saw Vishnu emerging a lucky winner. A couple of more infringements for overtaking during the yellow light saw Raghul Rangasamy taking second place and Kevin Perera third.

“It was a weekend to forget,” said Vishnu, well before the LGB results were corrected.

READ | Vishnu Prasad, Chittesh Mandody take top honours at National Racing Championship

He should be happy now even though he is only a point ahead on the Euro JK table, with 64 points. Vishnu began the weekend on a disastrous note, ending up with a DNF despite leading Race 1 all the way till the penultimate round. He made up dramatically in Race 2 by claiming third position even though he had to start from the pit lane.

He underlined his mastery over the track on Sunday, winning the day’s first Euro JK 17 race. He exploited his advantage of starting on pole (as the second fastest times in the qualifying session determined the grid for this race) to stay ahead of the pack.

READ | Indian driver Arjun Maini hopes Haas apprenticeship will help land F1 seat

But defending champion Anindith Reddy (P4) and Mumbai’s Nayan Chatterjee (P3) were soon at his throat. Anindith, in fact, looked like he would get past him on a couple of occasions.

“I thought I would get past Vishnu. But he defended well,” said Anindith.

Race 2 presented a similar story, with Australia’s Ricky Capo jumping into the lead from P2. Vishnu from P6, Anindith from P5 and Nayan from P4 were quickly on his tail, with Anindith taking the second place midway through the race.


Euro JK 17

Race 1: 1. Vishnu Prasad (15:50.536); 2. Anindith Reddy (15:51.400); 3. Nayan Chatterjee (15:51890)

Race 2: 1. Ricky Capo (15:44.064); 2. Anindith Reddy (15:44.434); 3. Vishnu Prasad (15:46.428)

LGB Formula 4:

Race 1: 1. Sandeep Kumar (19:44.333); 2. Vishnu Prasad (19:44.95); 3. Raghul Rangasamy (19:48.770)

Race 2. 1. Vishnu Prasad; 2. Raghul Rangasamy; 3. Kevin Perera

Suzuki Gixxer Cup

1. Joseph Matthew (10:10.863); 2. Malsawmdawngliana (10:13.064); 3. Sanjeev Mhatre (10:15.725)

First Published: Aug 06, 2017 20:19 IST