Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

80 pc voting in nagar panchayat and MC wards in Kapurthala

The polling at three Nagar Panchayats in Bholath assembly constituency and by-election in two municipal council wards at Kapurthala and Sultanpurlodhi passed off peacefully without any untoward incident.

punjab Updated: Jun 08, 2012 14:21 IST

The polling at three Nagar Panchayats in Bholath assembly constituency and by-election in two municipal council wards at Kapurthala and Sultanpurlodhi on Thursday passed off peacefully without any untoward incident.

About 80 per cent polling has been recorded at three nagar panchayats and two municipal council wards which went to polls.

Ward number 4 of municipal council Sultanpurlodhi recorded 89 percent polling while Kapurthala municipal council ward number 17 recorded 77 percent polling.

Nagar Panchayats Begowal , Bholath and Dhilwan recorded 79, 81 and 76 per cent polling respectively.

Anup Singh of ward number 4 of Begowal and Seema Rani of ward number 4 of Dhilwan were already elected unopposed following rejection of nomination papers of their rival candidates.

A report from Hohiarpur said 82.05 per cent voters in Mahilpur nagar panchayat and 79 per cent in two wards of Garhdiwala nagar council, cast their votes today in a free and independent environment.

People in large numbers, including women and senior citizens, went to exercise their right of franchise at respective polling stations today.

According to official sources, the heavy turnout of voters sealed the fate of over 44 candidates (belonging to different political parties) contesting for 13 wards of Mahilpur nagar panchayat, whereas fate of 4 candidates contesting by-election for 2 wards of Garhdiwala nagar council have been sealed in electronic voting machines.

The results will be declared after the counting on June 10.

Polling for municipal council, Amloh and by-election for ward no 2 of Mandi Gobindgarh was on Thursday held in Fatehgarh Sahib. Election was held under tight security arrangements.

District administration made elaborate arrangements for conduct of the election.

As per information received, 87 per cent polling was recorded in Amloh and 85 per cent in Mandi Gobindgarh bye election. Voters exercised their right of voting for 13 wards of municipal council, Amloh.

There was contest among SAD-BJP alliance, People Party of Punjab and Congress supported candidates in Amloh. Five candidates were in fray in ward no 2 by-elections of Mandi Gobindgarh. Shiromani Akali Dal had fielded Baldev Singh Bhangu while BJP has pitted Ramchet Gaur in the bye-election. Harmanpreet Singh Bajwa, Kuldeep Singh Bajwa and Asha Rani contested as independents .

The polling in Mandi Gobindgarh was held in two polling booths-Government Elementary School and Dharmshala of Guru Nanak Colony, Mandi Gobindgarh.

As per report, two unidentified persons assaulted Bal Mukand Aggarwal, former president of municipal council, Mandi Gobindgarh when he was listening to a mobile call near a polling booth in Mandi Gobindgarh.

Aggarwal has complained in this regard to Mandi Gobindgarh police. Exact reason of the assault is yet to be ascertained.

First Published: Jun 08, 2012 14:04 IST