Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 21, 2018-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Azaad group candidate wins Mohali MC bypoll; SAD bags seat in Zirakpur

Upinderpeet Kaur Arora, 28, will represent ward number 29 in the SAS Nagar Municipal Corporation.

punjab Updated: Dec 21, 2015 11:54 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Kulwant Singh’s Azaad Group,SAS Nagar mayor,byelection
Upinderpreet Kaur celebrating her win with family and supporters in SAS Nagar on Sunday. (Gurminder Singh/HT)

Upinderpeet Kaur Arora, 28, will represent ward number 29 in the SAS Nagar Municipal Corporation.

A candidate of SAS Nagar mayor Kulwant Singh’s Azaad Group, she won the byelection on Sunday. She is the daughter of Amteshwar Kaur, who represented the same ward and had died on April 3.

Upinderpreet got 901 votes, defeating her nearest rival and independent candidate Jaswinder Kaur by a margin of 342 votes. Another independent candidate Harbans Kaur Malhi got 382 votes. A total of 1,842 votes were cast. The voting began at 8am and continued till 4pm. The result was declared by the returning officer Rajdeep Kaur in the evening.

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) didn’t field a candidate in the bypoll.

“I will fulfil the pending works of my late mother and this victory is a tribute to her,” Upinderpreet said. Kaur, who has done her MBA from the US, is also been looking after her mother’s NGO, The Generation Saviours Association.

The seat had fallen vacant following the death of Upinderpreet’s mother, who was elected a councillor for the third time. She had won by a slender margin of three votes. Although a SAD leader, she was denied the ticket, following which she contested as an independent and aligned with the group led by Kulwant Singh, who is now the mayor.

Akali candidate wins Zirakpur MC bypoll

Akali candidate Satwinder Singh won the bypoll for the ward number 20 in Zirakpur municipal council on Sunday. He won by a margin of 1,428 votes, defeating the independent candidate Jagjeet Singh Kaler.

Despite the support of the Congress and AAP, Kaler was polled only 188 votes and got his security deposit forfeited.

Satwinder Singh was hand-picked by Zirakpur MLA NK Sharma. The seat had fallen vacant after the death of Satwinder’s father Suhinder Singh.

First Published: Dec 21, 2015 11:53 IST