Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 21, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ludhiana civic polls: Suspense over as AAP, LIP release list of candidates

Bains said that only one ward in the central constituency was undecided but that candidate would also be finalised by Monday night.

punjab Updated: Feb 13, 2018 15:24 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Ludhiana
Ludhiana civic polls,AAP,LIP
AAP leader Davinder Singh Bhola and others filing nomination papers in Ludhiana on Monday. (Gurpreet Singh/HT)

A day before the last date of filing of nominations, the Lok Insaaf Party (LIP) announced 55 out of total 56 candidates for the upcoming MC elections on Monday. While sharing the reservation of seats for AAP-LIP in the alliance, Simarjit Singh Bains said that LIP had got 56 seats while AAP would be contesting on 39 seats.

Bains said that only one ward in the central constituency was undecided but that candidate would also be finalised by Monday night.

He also added that his ‘small’ party was receiving a great response from the residents and that the SAD-BJP and Congress were afraid of them. The residents of Ludhiana are sincere and they will vote for LIP, said Bains.

Speaking of Ranjit Singh Ubhi who recently left LIP, Bains said that he had received a poor response from the public about Ubhi so they decided not to give the ticket him.

Ticket for Muslim candidate, wife of martyr

To woo the Muslim community, which has been protesting against the Congress for not giving any ticket to a Muslim leader from any ward in the city, LIP gave a ticket to a Muslim candidate from ward 55. A ticket was also given to the wife of a martyr. Muslim candidate Shehnaz Begum has been allotted a ticket from ward 55 while Manpreet Kaur, wife of Shaheed Sarpal Singh Fauji, has got ticket from 45.

LIP ticket for AAP leader Mehak Tinna, wife of AAP leader Gurkaran Tinna, has received a party ticket of LIP.

Simarjit Bains and Gurkaran Tinna said that AAP-LIP were fighting elections as an alliance and there was no difference if any candidate was fighting elections on the other party’s symbol.MLA (South) Balwinder Singh Bains said that no ticket had been allotted to two members of a family as the party did not believe in promoting family politics.

AAP list out

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) also announced its the remaining eight candidates for the upcoming elections. The party replaced the candidate for ward number 71. Gurpreet Kaur Sidhu who joined AAP, after leaving Congress on Monday, has been given a ticket from ward 71, replacing Rajvir Gill, who was earlier announced as party candidate for the ward.

According to the information, Nisha Malhotra has been given a ticket from ward 3, Baljit Kaur from 7, Mamta Chawla from 17, Amarjit Singh 18, Bhavna Gupta 67, Sukhjit Kaur from 73, Inderjit Kaur from ward 75 and Manpreet Kaur from ward 83.

AAP spokesperson Darshan Singh said that Gurdeep Kaur was the vice president of Mahila Congress, Punjab and was a strong candidate from ward 71. Rajvir Gill has been replaced with Gurpreet Kaur having Rajvi’s consent, claimed Singh.

First Published: Feb 13, 2018 15:23 IST