New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 21, 2020-Wednesday



Select Country
Select city
Home / TV / Shveta replaced on Jhalak Dikhla Ja 2

Shveta replaced on Jhalak Dikhla Ja 2

Mona "Jassi" Singh has replaced Shveta Salve as the anchor of Sony TV's dance show Jhalak Dikhla Jaa 2.

tv Updated: Sep 17, 2007, 01:51 IST
Subhash K Jha
Subhash K Jha

Remember the fireworks between Mona Singh and Shveta Salve during Sony TV's last year's dance competition Jhalak Dikhla Jaa? The battle hots up again as Shveta is ousted by Mona as the anchor of the second season of the show.

What happened? Shveta doesn't have a clue. But she isn't sulking either. "These things happen. Yes, I was looking forward to it. But never mind," Shveta told IANS.

Last year, both the ladies were poised to take away the winner's crown. Shveta with her dancing skills and Madhuri Dixit features was the judges' favourite. But Mona with her perseverance and warmth worked hard on herself and sneaked the crown from under Shveta's nose much to everyone surprise.

Ever since, the two women haven't exactly been seeing eye-to-eye.

A year later, feathers were about to be ruffled when Shveta was signed to co-host Jhalak Dikhla Jaa 2 with Rohit Roy. The duo was to replace Archana Puran Singh and Parmeet Sethi.

Now in a sudden and surprising development Shveta has been ousted from the anchor's chair, to be replaced by Mona.

Apparently, Mona was seen to have a warmer and more viewer-friendly personality than Shveta, hence the eleventh hour decision to replace the original choice.

Rohit said: "I'm aware of the change. It will be interesting to see how the show goes."

Mona coyly refused to comment.

But Jhalak 2 seems to be going through casting dilemmas from the start. While the show is poised to resume from the last week of September, none of the judges from the first season, namely Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Farah Khan and Shilpa Shetty, have agreed to return on the show.

Only one judge, Urmila Matondkar, has been confirmed. The second judge is likely to be Shiamak Davar.

As for the third, your guess is as good as mine.

Mini Mathur, Cyrus Broacha, Mika, Sonali Kukarni are some of the stars who will be seen participating in the show.

ht epaper

Sign In to continue reading