Nayanthara with director Vignesh Shivn at the 10th edition o the Vijay Awards.
Nayanthara with director Vignesh Shivn at the 10th edition o the Vijay Awards.

Vijay awards 2018: Nayanthara, Vijay Sethupathi win best actor award, Dhanush and Anirudh perform together. See pics

Vijay awards 2018: Nayanthara won the best actress award for her performance in Aramm, while Vijay Sethupathi was recognised for his in Vikram Vedha.
Hindustan Times | By HT Correspondent, Chennai
UPDATED ON JUN 04, 2018 12:37 PM IST

The stars of Kollywood gathered in Chennai for one of the biggest award shows in south film industry, the 10th edition of Vijay Awards 2018. The grand affair was hosted by Divyadharshini and Gobinath and saw some great speeches and performances. One of the memorable moments included actor Dhanush and composer Anirudh Ravichander come together on stage to perform. The two have worked together in multiple projects, out of which Velai Illa Pattathari’s (VIP) background score is still considered the best by fans.

Vijay starrer Mersal and R Madhavan and Vijay Sethupathi starrer Vikram Vedha came out winning multiple awards. The Kadaikutty Singam team was also present at the ceremony to release the trailer of their upcoming film. Karthi, Sayyeshaa, Priya Bhavani Shankar, comedia Soori, director Pandiraj were present. It was also revealed that Suriya, who is bankrolling the project under 2D Entertainment will be appearing in a cameo in the film.

Actor Nayanthara, who won the best actress award for Gopi Nainar’s Aramm was accompanied by Vignesh Shivn, who shared an adorable picture of the actress with her two awards on his social media page. He also wondered when he would get such awards and make her proud in his post

See photos from Vijay awards held in Chennai

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Best Film : Aruvi

Favorite Movie: Mersal (Audience votes)

Best Actor Female: Nayanthara

Best Actor Male: Vijay Sethupathi for Vikram Vedha

Favourite Actor Female: Nayanthara (Audience votes)

Best Director: Pushkar Gayathri for Vikram Vedha.

Best Cinematography : Ravi Verman for Kaatru Veliyidai.

Best editor:Philomin Raj for Maanagaram.

Best Comedian: Soori for for Sangli Bungli Kathava Thorae.

Best Playback singer male: Anirudh Ravichander for Velaikkaran

Best Playback Singer female: Lakshmi for Bogan

Best BGM :Sam CS for Vikram Vedha

Best Music composer: AR Rahman for Kaatru Veliyidai

Favourite song: Alapporan Tamizhan from Mersal

Best dialogue writer : Oru Kidayin Karunai Manu - Suresh Sangaiah

Best Debut Actor Male: Vasanth Ravi for Taramani

Best Debut Actor Female: Aditi Balan for Aruvi

Best Screenplay: Pushkar-Gayathri for Vikram Vedha

Best Debut Director: Lokesh Kanagaraj for Maanagaram

Favourite Director: Atlee for Mersal

Best Supporting Actor (Female): Revathy for Pa Paandi

Best supporting actor Male: Vivek Prasanna for Meyaadha Maan

Best entertainer of the year: Dhanush

Best Dance Choreographer: Brindha for Kaatru Veliyidai

Best Actor Negative Role: SJ Suryah for Spyder

Lifetime Achievement Award: Sivakumar.

Follow @htshowbiz for more

Story Saved