Bengal Bypolls: TMC registers stunning win; Abhishek's 'Diwali' jibe at BJP

Published on Nov 02, 2021 05:42 PM IST
Copy Link

Celebrations broke out in West Bengal as TMC registered a stunning victory in bypolls. The counting of votes for four assembly seats in the state was being held on Tuesday. Dinhata, Khardaha, Gosaba (SC) & Santipur constituencies went to bypolls on October 30. All four constituencies witnessed a direct battle between the ruling TMC & BJP. TMC's Udayan Guha has been declared winner of Dinhata assembly seat, while TMC’s Subrata Mondal won the bypolls from Gosaba Assembly constituency and Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, who vacated the Bhabanipur seat for Mamata, won Khardah constituency. Bypoll in Dinhata, Santipur was necessitated after winning candidates from BJP chose to not take oath. Nisith Pramanik from Dinhata & Jagannath Sarkar from Santipur didn't take oath to remain in Parliament. Seats of Gosaba & Khardaha fell vacant after the winning TMC candidates died. Kajal Sinha, who won from Khardaha seat, succumbed to Covid before results were declared. In Gosaba, TMC veteran Jayanta Naskar also passed away & this led to re-election.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, December 05, 2021