Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 20, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Dipa Karmakar, Sakshi Malik amongst Padma Shri recipients

Apr 13, 2017 18:37 IST
about the video

President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday conferred the Padma awards at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. 89 people were awarded by President this year for their exceptional work in various fields. This year the President gave out 7 Padma Vibhushan awards, 7 Padma Bhushan awards and 75 Padma Shri Awards. Among those who received the Padma Shri awards were Chef Sanjeev Kapoor, Discus Thrower Vikas Gowda, Gymnast Dipa Karmakar and Wrestler Sakshi Malik.The ceremony was also attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh and other dignitaries.