Today in New Delhi, India
Aug 18, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Election 2019 in seven phases from April 11, results on May 23

Mar 11, 2019 13:48 IST
about the video

The 2019 Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23. Calling the Indian parliamentary battle the “largest festival of democracy”, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that the election will see about 900 million voters, up from 814.5 million in 2014, when the Narendra Modi led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) swept to power. Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal, Odisha and Sikkim to be held with Lok Sabha polls. The election will see approximately 10 lakh polling stations set up and a total of 17.4 lakh VVPATs to be used with EVMs in all polling stations.