Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 16, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

18 countries expel Russian diplomats over poisoning of ex-British spy row

Mar 27, 2018 15:19 IST
about the video

The United States and its European allies on Monday expelled dozens of Russian diplomats in a coordinated action against Moscow which they accuse of poisoning an ex-spy in Britain. Over 100 Russian diplomats have been expelled from 18 countries. Along with the US, Canada, Ukraine and most of the European Union nations have shown solidarity with Britain. These EU countries are Germany, France, Czech Republic, Denmark, Croatia, Finland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, and Sweden. However, Russia denied any involvement and said these expulsions are a “provocative gesture”. They even vowed to retaliate. “We express a decisive protest over the decision taken by a number of EU and NATO countries to expel Russian diplomats,” the ministry said in a statement.