Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 21, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Watch | From Germany to Greece in a gas balloon

Sep 27, 2016 19:56 IST
about the video

The Long Distance Balloon Championship was held in Gladbeck in Germany. The race began with two teams each from Switzerland, the United States, Germany, France and Belgium while a single team participated from each of Poland, Netherlands, Lithuania, Spain, Britain, Austria and Australia. Kurt Frieden and Pascal Witpraechtiger from Switzerland won their second successive race. They covered a distance of 1,803.4 kilometres in 58 hours and travelled all the way to Stavros in Greece. The second Swiss team of Nicolas Tieche and Laurent Sciboz finished second, covering a distance of 1,590 kilometres, a mere four kilometres more than third placed Anulfo Gonzalez and Angel Aguirre from Team Spain.