India vs Australia WT20 highlights: Late hitting takes Aus to 160/6 | world t20 | top | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Aug 16, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India vs Australia WT20 highlights: Late hitting takes Aus to 160/6

Australian captain Steve Smith won the toss and opted to bat first against India in their World T20 match in Mohali on Sunday.

world t20 Updated: Mar 27, 2016 21:16 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
World T20,India vs Australia,MS Dhoni
India will look to Jasprit Bumrah and Ashish Nehra for early breakthroughs into the Australian batting.(AP)


Over 20: Two big strikes off the last two balls help the Aussies post a competitive 160/6. Will it be enough?

(Follow India’s chase)

19.1 Pandya to Faulkner, OUT

Caught at long on! It’s a good length ball that does not come on to the bat, Faulkner makes room and slogs, but mis-times the ball straight to Kohli in the deep. Will Australia get to 150?

Over 19: 9 off Bumrah. How much can the Aussies score in the last over? 145/5

Over 18: Excellent over from Nehra, only four from it. 136/5

Over 17: 3 off Bumrah and the big wicket of Maxwell. 132/5

16.3 Bumrah to Maxwell, OUT

Bowled him with the slower ball! Maxwell heaved across the line so, so early that he was almost through the shot before the ball arrived. He had backed away towards leg to make a bit of room too. Bumrah clipped the top of off stump.

Over 16: 15 off Jadeja, including a brilliant reverse sweep six from Maxwell. 129/4

Over 15: 10 off Pandya. 114/4

Over 14: 4 off Yuvraj. 104/4

Over 13: 7 off Pandya. 100 up for the Aussies, but they lose Finch right after. 100/4

12.6 Pandya to Finch, OUT

Short again, pulls again and this Pandya wins the contest! Finch seemed to be hurried for time as he swung across the line and mis-timed it to Dhawan at deep midwicket, that was taken well inside the boundary

Over 12: 8 off Yuvraj’s over. 93/3

Over 11: Just four off Pandya. 85/3

Over 10: 7 off Yuvraj’s first over of the tournament, a very successful one thanks to Smith’s wicket. 81/3

(India vs Australia World T20 full scorecard, ball-by-ball commentary, graphs and more)

9.1 Yuvraj Singh to Smith, OUT

And he has struck first ball!!! An incredible turn of events. That is his first ball of the tournament. He fired it in quick from around the wicket and got the ball to spin and bounce a bit away from the right-hander, Smith stayed back and wafted at the ball. There seemed to be an edge and Dhoni went up rightaway, but Smith looked unhappy. I’ll wait for replays to confirm if there was an edge or not.

Over 9: Just 1 off Jadeja. 74/2

Over 8: 9 off Ashwin and another breakthrough, that of David Warner. 73/2

7.5 Ashwin to Warner, OUT

Stumped! Warner skipped down the track but could not get to the pitch of the delivery, perhaps he came forward too early and Ashwin shortened his length and slowed the pace down too. The ball spun away from the left-hander and beat Warner’s helpless prod. Dhoni did the rest

Over 7: 5 off Jadeja. 64/1

Over 6: 4 off Bumrah. 59/1

Over 5: 2 off Nehra and the much-needed breakthrough. 55/1

4.2 Nehra to Khawaja, OUT

Caught behind and the crowd roars for the first time in this game! Khawaja drove hard at a good length ball that shaped away from him from around off stump and got a thick edge through to Dhoni. India have their first wicket

Over 4: 22 off Ashwin’s first over. India need to find some way to stop the bleeding. 53/0

Over 3: 10 runs off Nehra. 31/0

Over 2: Expensive over from Bumrah, 17 off it. All four boundaries by Khawaja. 21/0

Over 1: 4 off Nehra’s first over. Australia 4/0

Australian captain Steve Smith won the toss and opted to bat first against India in their World T20 match in Mohali on Sunday.

Smith explained his decision saying he thought the pitch might slow down later on. Smith’s Indian counterpart MS Dhoni said he too would have liked to bat first.

With Australia ahead of India on net run rate and one semi-final spot already sealed by New Zealand, the match is effectively a quarterfinal with the winner going on to face West Indies in the last four.



MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh


Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill (wicketkeeper), Shane Watson, Adam Zampa

(Click for full coverage of the ICC World T20)

First Published: Mar 27, 2016 19:13 IST