Uttar Pradesh election: RLD turncoat says don’t vote for me, pick BJP | assembly-elections$uttarpradesh-2017 | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Uttar Pradesh election: RLD turncoat says don’t vote for me, pick BJP

assembly elections Updated: Mar 06, 2017 06:52 IST
S Raju
Uttar Pradesh election 2017

Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ajit Singh addresses an election rally in Meerut on Feb 7, 2017. Ramkumar Kashyap, the RLD candidate from UP’s Nakur, announced that he has joined the BJP just two days before the second phase of assembly election on Feb 15, (PTI)

Ramkumar Kashyap, the RLD candidate from Nakur constituency of Uttar Pradesh’s Saharanpur district, has said he will join the BJP, just two days ahead of the second phase of polling in the state.

Kashyap announced his decision during a rally addressed by Bharatiya Janata Party chief Amit Shah on Monday and asked his supporters to vote in favour of BJP candidate, Dharamveer Saini.

He blamed Rashtriya Lok Dal leaders for insulting him, saying that it forced him to discuss the issue with leaders of his clan, who advised him to quit the party that did not respect and honour him.

Kashyap, who can’t withdraw his candidature, declared that he will now canvass for Saini and appealed his supporters to vote for the BJP.

Leaders of the Ajit Singh-led Rashtriya Lok Dal said Kashyap’s actions were unethical and appealed to their supporters to vote for handpump, the party’s election symbol, without falling into trap of the BJP. They also demanded that Kashyap should be punished for his “mischievous act”.

“Kashyap has spoiled his political career for his personal benefit,” Munshi Rampal, RLD’s western UP president, said.

Munshi Rampal also called upon people to vote in favour of the RLD and ignore Kashyap.

Canvassing on seven constituencies of Saharanpur district ended on Monday evening and people will cast their vote to elect their representatives on Wednesday.

Around 64% voters turned up to exercise their franchise on Saturday in first of the staggered seven-phase assembly elections in India’s most populous state. Polling took place in 73 of the state’s 403 assembly constituencies, spread across 15 districts in the western part.