India’s fallen heroes: The 18 soldiers who lost their lives in Uri attack | india-news | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India’s fallen heroes: The 18 soldiers who lost their lives in Uri attack

india Updated: Sep 20, 2016 00:50 IST
HT Correspondent
Uri attack

Indian army soldiers pay last respects to soldiers who died in the attack in Uri, at a ceremony in Srinagar. (Indian Army Handout )

Sunday’s militant attack  on an army base in Uri, Jammu and Kashmir has claimed the lives of eighteen soldiers. While 17 soldiers died on Sunday, the army confirmed that one more critically injured soldier succumbed to his injuries today, pushing the death toll to 18.

The armed militants lobbed grenades at their tents and barracks where the soldiers were sleeping. The ensuing fire led to a large number of casualties. 28 injured soldiers had been airlifted to a military hospital on Sunday.

“We salute the sacrifice of 17 soldiers who were martyred in the operation,” the army said in a statement. Lieutenant General DS Hooda, army commander and all ranks of Northern Command also expressed deep condolences to the families of dead.

All across the country, families and states mourned their dead . The fallen soldiers belonged to Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkand, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. 

Here are the names of the soldiers who lost their lives in the attack:

Havildar Ashok Kumar Singh
of Raktu Tola village, Bhojpur district, Bihar
Naik SK Vidarthi
of Boknari village, Gaya district, Bihar
Sepoy Rakesh Singh
of Baddja village, Kaimur district, Bihar
Sepoy Ganesh Shankar
of Ghoorapalli village, Sant Kabir Nagar, Uttar Pradesh
Sepoy Rajesh Kumar Singh
of Jaunpur village, Uttar Pradesh
Sepoy Harinder Yadav
of Ghazipur village, Ghazipur district, Uttar Pradesh
Havildar NS Rawat
of Rajawa village, Rajasmand district, Rajasthan
Sepoy Naiman Kuju
of Gumla village, Chainpur district, Jharkhand
Sepoy Uike Janrao
of Nandgaon (Kh) village, Amravati district, Maharashtra
Sepoy Biswajit Ghorai
of Ganga Sagar village, South 24 Parganas district, West Bengal
Sepoy G Dalai
of Jamuna Balia village, Howarah district, West Bengal
Subedar Karnail Singh
of Shibu Chak vill., Bishnah, Jammu district, Jammu & Kashmir
Havildar Ravi Paul
of Samba, Jammu district, Jammu & Kashmir
Sepoy Javra Munda
of Meral village, Khuti district, Jharkhand
Lance Naik G Shankar
of Jashi village, Satara district, Maharashtra
Lance Naik RK Yadav
of Balia village, Uttar Pradesh
Sepoy TS Somnath
of Khadangali village, Nashik district, Maharashtra
Sepoy K Vikas Janardhan
of Purad village, Yavatmal district, Maharashtra