New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 16, 2020-Sunday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Assembly Elections / AAP’s Gopal Rai wins Babarpur Assembly seat

AAP’s Gopal Rai wins Babarpur Assembly seat

Babarpur seat was won by AAP’s Gopal Rai. He contested against BJP’s Naresh Gaur and INC’s Anveeksha Jain.

assembly-elections Updated: Feb 11, 2020 17:29 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Picture shows multiple EVM machines securely kept (representational image).
Picture shows multiple EVM machines securely kept (representational image). (HT File Photo)

Gopal Rai, who contested under the ticket of Aam Aadmi Party wins Babarpur Assembly seat. Rai, who regularly uses Twitter, took to the micro-blogging site after his win and dropped a tweet. Written in Hindi, the translated post reads, “Whenever there has been a fight between hate and love, hate lost and love won.”

AAP candidate Gopal Rai, was leading in Delhi Assembly Election 2020 from Babarpur seat when the counting started. In 2015 Assembly Election, Rai contested from the same seat under AAP’s ticket. At that time, he defeated Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Naresh Gaur by the margin of 35,488 votes.

Rai, when the counting started also took to Twitter to share a post about Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Written in Hindi, his translated tweet reads, “Arvind Kejriwal’s work for people of Delhi will bring victory for the party in the election.”

Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government came to power in 2015 in Delhi. Now, after 5 years, the current government is going to complete its term on February 22, 2020. To select a new government, Delhi went to poll on February 8, 2020. For 70 constituencies, including Babarpur, the polling was conducted in a single phase.

Babarpur Assembly seat is located in the Shahdara district of Delhi and it falls under North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. In the 2015 Assembly elections, thirteen candidates contested for the seat. To select Babarpur’s MLA, around 66 per cent voters in the constituency exercised their franchise.

This year, ten candidates from different political parties contested for Babarpur Assembly seat. They are:

Anveeksha Jain - Indian National Congress

Naresh Gaur - Bharatiya Janata Party

Gopal Rai - Aam Aadmi Party

Zahid Ali - Nationalist Congress Party

Dharm Singh - Bahujan Samaj Party

Kali Ram - Peoples Party of India (Democratic)

Prince Kumar - Mazdoor Ekta Party

Sadeque Muniroddin Shaikh - Tipu Sultan Party

Jakir Chaudhary - Independent

Shivani Gaur – Independent

The sitting MLA of Babarpur, Gopal Rai (AAP) defeated Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Naresh Gaur in 2015 Delhi assembly elections. While Rai secured 75,928 or 59.3 per cent of the votes, Gaur managed to garner 40,440 or 31.6 per cent of the votes. Rai defeated Gaur by a margin of 35,488 votes. Zakhir Khan of Indian National Congress grabbed the third spot with 9,916 votes.

Also Read | Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020 Live Updates

Get Latest Updates, Top News on Delhi Assembly Election on Hindustan Times.