New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 23, 2020-Sunday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tata Power gets new directors

Banmali Agrawala, MD of Wartsila India will be coming in as head of strategy and business development and S Padmanabhan of TCS will join as head of operations, reports Suman Layak.

business Updated: Feb 06, 2008 01:41 IST
Suman Layak
Suman Layak
Hindustan Times

Tata Power on Tuesday announced the appointment of two new executive directors. Banmali Agrawala, managing director of Wartsila India will be coming in as head of strategy and business development and S Padmanabhan of Tata Consultancy Services will join as head of operations. The management at Tata Power is headed by managing director R Prasad Menon and has only one more executive director -- Sowmyan Ramakrishnan. The induction of two more executive directors of the calibre of Agrawala and Padmanabhan indicates that the promoters are eager to beef up the top management at the company.

Banmali Agrawala, who will give up his chief executive position told Hindustan Times: “I will join on February 15. Tata Power is going in through very interesting times. Clearly the size of the challenge and opportunity is huge at Tata Power and the job title is immaterial.”

Forty-four year old Agrawala had moved to Wartsila from Bajaj Auto in 1987 and risen to the position of managing director. Padmanabhan, on the other hand, has been a TCS man since he started his career in 1982 as a trainee. He rose to become the executive director and head of global human resources at TCS. He has also been the chief executive officer of the TCS joint venture with Singapore Airlines, called Aviation Software Development Consultancy. TCS has appointed Ajoyendra Mukherjee as the successor to Padmanabhan. While Mukherjee will not be an executive director he will be global head for human resources. A TCS spokesperson said: “Mukherjee is also an operations person like Padmanabhan was and has been with the company for 27 years.”

The Tata Power board is headed by Tata Group chairman Ratan Tata and has nine non-executive directors among 11 directors. Now the board will be expanded to 13 members with the number of executive members on the board being doubled to four.