Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Section 144 in 8 districts of Haryana

The eight districts where prohibitory orders have been clamped under Section 144 of the CrPC.

chandigarh Updated: May 19, 2007 00:55 IST
HT Coresspondent
HT Coresspondent

The Haryana government on Friday banned the assembly of five or more persons and carrying of firearms in eight districts of the State as a precautionary measure in view of the standoff between the Sikh community and followers of Dera Sacha Sauda.

The eight districts where prohibitory orders have been clamped under Section 144 of the CrPC are Sirsa, Faridabad, Jind, Kaithal, Kurukshetra, Karnal, Ambala and Yamunanagar. “The situation is under control and the imposition of prohibitory orders is only a preventive measure to ensure that anti-social elements do not disturb peace in the state,” according to an official spokesman. As per the provisions of Section 144, assembly of more than four persons and carrying of firearms, sharp-edged weapons, lathis etc has been banned in these districts.

Additional Director General of Police, Law and Order, V. B. Singh said that barring minor protests in Shahbad, Pundri and Pehowa, the situation was peaceful in the state. “We have got four more companies of Indo-Tibet Border Police, taking the total to 10. Eight of these have been deployed in Sirsa and two companies are in the adjoining Fatehabad district,” Singh, who was in Sirsa to monitor the situation, told Hindustan Times over phone.

Home Secretary Kartar Singh Bhoria said the state had requested the Centre for 10 additional companies of paramilitary forces for deployment in sensitive areas. Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, who cancelled his Sirsa visit today, and his aides were in constant touch with top civil and police officials and closely monitored the situation.

First Published: May 19, 2007 00:49 IST