HT Image
HT Image

18 foreign players for 2nd IPL auction

The list includes seven New Zealanders, four Australians, three Pakistanis, two from Bangladesh, and one each from Sri Lanka and South Africa.
IANS | By HT Correspondent, New Delhi
UPDATED ON MAR 09, 2008 04:58 PM IST

Pakistan's Mohammed Yousuf and South Africa's Ashwell Prince, who were dumped by franchise owners at the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction last month, along with Misbah-ul-Haq will be among the 18 players to be auctioned on Tuesday.

IANS accessed the highly confidential players' list that will be distributed to the eight franchise owners not before Tuesday morning.

The list includes seven New Zealanders, four Australians, three Pakistanis, two from Bangladesh, and one each from Sri Lanka and South Africa.

The list includes the cricketers who are already contracted by IPL, an extension of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), and would be playing in the maiden edition of the lucrative Twenty20 tournament starting April 18.

"There are 13 other foreign players who have shown keen interest to play in the first season," a top BCCI official told IANS on condition of anonymity.

As per the IPL rules, the high profile team owners are free to buy more foreign players from outside the list of 18. But the teams will have to inform the IPL about the players they are targeting and the organisers will then negotiate their base price and try to secure the no-objection certificates (NOCs) from their home boards.

Pakistani batting's mainstay Yousuf and Prince were up for sale in the first auction, but there were no takers for the two players. They were once again ignored even when they were presented at the end of the eight-round auction, where 75 players went down the hammer. The duo would now be hoping to be picked Tuesday.

Misbah, on the other hand, was not in the fray in the first auction.

The team owners, who were asked to spend between $3.3 million and $5 million at the first auction in Mumbai Feb 20, have varying amounts left in their kitty, which necessitated a second auction.

The amounts left are: $374,000 with Bangalore, $23,750 with Chennai, $71,250 with Delhi, $262,500 with Hyderabad, $1,700,000 with Jaipur, $107,500 with Kolkata, $292,250 with Mohali and $53,750 with Mumbai.

"However, if a team overspends $5 million on players who were initially not available but become available later, the excess expenditure will be ignored. Also, player fees for Indian players who were not in the auction do not count against the $5m purse," said the official.

"There will be no more auctions this season," the official added.

Each team can have a minimum of 16 players, including a maximum of eight currently available foreigners but not more than four in the playing XI. Those foreign players who are not available will not count towards the total.

The minimum of four under-22 players to be selected for the squad will be taken from catchments areas and include U-19, Ranji Trophy and national players. They should be under 22 years of age as on April 1 of the applicable season.

The minimum fee for Ranji Trophy and non-auction players has been fixed at $50,000 per season while under-22 players will receive $20,000 for the same period.

All players must submit the NOCs at least 30 days before the start of every season, with the exception for the Australian players.

Cricket Australia (CA) has said that it would give NOCs to its players, if the franchise keen to contract a player has already met two conditions: (a) it has already signed two CA's centrally contracted players, or (b) it has already signed two players registered to the same Australian state association. This clause was added at the last minute before the first auction and will again apply.

But players who have retired from international and Australian domestic cricket and are not contracted with either CA or their state association - like Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath - do not have to meet this condition.

All team owners have to finalise their squads by 30 days before the start of the 2008 season, which is March 19.

Players for second auction: (includes Availability for the tournament)

1 Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan/batsman/season availability 80 percent)
2 Ashwell Prince (South Africa/batsman, 100 percent)
3 Kyle Mills (New Zealand/bowler/ 40 percent)
4 Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan/all-rounder, 80 percent)
5 Ross Taylor (New Zealand/batsman/40 percent)
6 Peter Fulton (New Zealand/batsman/40 percent)
7 Jamie How (New Zealand/batsman/40 percent)
8 Jeetan Patel (New Zealand/bowler/40 percent)
9 Chris Martin (New Zealand/bowler/40 percent)
10 James Franklin (New Zealand/bowler/40 percent)
11 Brad Hodge (Australia/batsman/100 percent)
12 Shane Watson (Australia/all-rounder/100 percent)
13 James Hopes (Australia/all-rounder/80 percent)
14 Luke Pomersbach (Australia/batsman/100 percent)
15 Prasanna Jayawardene (Sri Lanka/wicket-keeper-batsman/100 percent)
16 Mohammad Ashraful (Bangladesh/all-rounder/100 percent)
17 Mashrafe Mortaza (Bangladesh/batsman/100 percent)
18 Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan/batsman/80 percent)

Players who have expressed their interest:

1 Goolam Bodi (South Africa)
2 Shaun Marsh (Australia)
3 Brad Hogg (Australia)
4 Shaun Tait (Australia)
5 Adam Voges (Australia)
6 Mick Lewis (Australia)
7 Darren Lehman (Australia)
8 Allen Wise (Australia)
9 Aiden Blizzard (Australia)
10 Adam Crosthwaite (Australia)
11 Yasir Hameed (Pakistan)
12 Kieran Powell (West Indies)
13 Dwayne Smith (West Indies)

Story Saved