HT Image
HT Image

1983: Our cup runneth over

India became the first team to beat the West Indies in any World Cup.
None | By HT Correspondent
UPDATED ON MAR 11, 2007 05:06 PM IST

India became the first team to beat the West Indies in any World Cup.

On June 9, 1983 in Old Trafford, they won by 34 runs. The highest total of 338 for 5 in 60 overs was by Pakistan against Sri Lanka in Swansea on June 9.

In reply Sri Lanka made 288 for 9. The lowest was Australia’s 129 in 38.2 overs against India at Chelmsford on June 20.

The biggest run victory margin was, interestingly, also in an Aus-India game, 162 runs in Nottingham, and the other, when the Windies beat Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in Birmingham.

The highest individual score was Kapil Dev’s 175 not out at Tunbridge Wells. The Indian skipper faced 138 balls, hit 16 fours and six sixes — the maximum boundaries by any player in the World Cup at the time.

The highest partnership (for any wicket) was between Larry Gomes and Gordon Greenidge, an unbeaten 195 for the third wicket against Zim on June 13.

Mohinder Amarnath became the first player to win the Man of the Match award in successive matches — against England in the semis and WI in the final.

The best bowling figures were by Winston Davis of the West Indies (7-51 vs Aus at Leeds on June 12), while Kapil’s 5-43 vs Aus in Nottingham was India’s best.

Lankan Somachandra de Silva’s 12-5-11-2 vs NZ in Derby on June 18 were the Cup’s most economical figures, while Kiwi Martin Snedden’s 12-1-105-2 vs England at The Oval on June 9 remained the most expensive one-day spell till last year, when Aussie Mick Lewis went for 113 in 10 when SA chased 434.

The Cup’s highest run-getter was David Gower, who got 384 at 76.80 in seven games, while Kapil was standout for India with 303 runs at 60.60 in eight games.

An Indian headed the wickets roster, with Roger Binny claiming 18 at 18.66 in eight matches. An Indian, Syed Kirmani, also had the maximum dismissals in a game by a keeper, 5 catches vs Zim at Leicester on June 11.

And finally, we have an ‘official’ stat: Dicky Bird became the first umpire to stand in all three World Cup finals till then (1975, 1979 and 1983).

Story Saved