HT Image
HT Image

1992: Modern Talking

This was the only World Cup that saw a new ‘target score’ rule in rain-hit games.
None | By HT Correspondent
UPDATED ON MAR 11, 2007 04:57 PM IST

The fifth World Cup in Australia and New Zealand boasted many firsts, among them the participation of South Africa, readmitted into the ICC the previous year. Day-night matches were another novelty.

This was the only World Cup that saw a new ‘target score’ rule in rain-hit games.

Winning seven matches in a row, New Zealand erased the West Indian record of six, set in 1983.

SA captain Kepler Wessels became the only player to represent two countries in the event; he had played three matches for Australia in 1983.

Javed Miandad took his WC run tally to 1029 in 28 matches, moving past Viv Richards (1013 in 23 matches).

Imran Khan, then the top wicket-taker in WC history, improved his record to 34.

Pakistan's 74 against England at Adelaide was the lowest total by a Test-playing nation in the World Cup.

Sri Lanka became the first team to successfully chase a 300-plus total in ODIs, making 313-7 vs Zimbabwe (312-4) at New Plymouth on February 23.

Miandad and Imran became the only players to see action in all five World Cups.

Zimbabwe's 134 against England was the lowest total defended successfully. Zimbabwe won the match by 9 runs at Albury on March 18.

The biggest margins of victory were 10 wickets by West Indies vs Pakistan at Melbourne, and 128 runs by Australia vs Zimbabwe at Hobart.

The lowest margins of victory were 1 run by Australia vs India at Brisbane on March 1, and three wickets by three different teams.

New Zealand mostly opened their bowling with off-spinner Deepak Patel, another novelty of the tournament.

Martin Crowe of NZ was the top run-getter with 456 at 114.

Mohammad Azharuddin took the batting honours for India with 332 runs at 47.42.

The event’s highest individual score was 119* by Rameez Raja of Pakistan vs New Zealand at Christchurch on March 18.

Desmond Haynes and Brian Lara forged the highest partnership, an unbroken 175 for the first wicket against Pakistan at Melbourne on February 23.

The highest wicket-taker was Pakistan’s Wasim Akram, with 18 at 18.77.

Manoj Prabhakar was India’s most successful bowler with 12 wickets at 20.41.

Meyrick Pringle of South Africa recorded the best bowling figures, four for 11 vs WI at Christchurch on March 5.

Wessels with seven catches in nine matches was the most successful fielder, equalling Kapil Dev’s 1983 mark.

David Williams of West Indies, Dave Richardson of South Africa and Moin Khan of Pakistan took the wicketkeeping honours with 14 dismissals each.

The first semifinal between England and SA ended in controversy; it began to rain with the latter needing 22 off 13 balls. When play resumed, two overs were deducted for the time lost but the target remained unchanged, leaving SA to get 22 off one ball!

Pakistan won the final against England by 22 runs, taking home A$74,750.

Compiled by Manoj Kumar

Story Saved