Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 16, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI’s new constitution ousts Mumbai Cricket Association as full member

Implementation of one-state-one-vote rule means Maharashtra gets BCCI full membership while Mumbai cricket association (MCA) becomes Associate Member. Nine-year clause for office bearers also clarified

cricket Updated: Mar 19, 2017 18:47 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Mumbai
BCCI,BCCI constitution,BCCI Full Member
The Committee of Administrators (CoA), appointed by the Supreme Court to carry out the reforms in BCCI suggested by the Justice Lodha Committee, finalised the new constitution on Saturday.(HT Photo)

Mumbai, 41-time Ranji Trophy champions, will no longer be considered a Full Member association in accordance with the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) new constitution.

The Committee of Administrators (CoA), appointed by the Supreme Court to carry out the reforms suggested by the Justice Lodha Committee, finalised the new constitution on Saturday.

Read more | India vs Australia, Ranchi Test, Day 4 highlights, full scorecard

Among the many reforms, the new constitution stipulates that only 30 associations will function as controlling bodies for domestic cricket in their respective states. These 30 bodies will be Full Members and receive voting rights. This was implemented to follow the one-state-one-vote rule, which is a Lodha Panel recommendation.

Maharashtra and Gujarat cricket associations were included in the list of Full Members which means that the cricket associations of Mumbai, Vidarbha, Saurashtra and Baroda —previously functioning as Full Members — will be considered Associate Members henceforth.

Read more | Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly in conflict of interest crosshairs

However, the new constitution also confirmed that membership for multiple associations in a single state would rotate on an annual basis.

The altered constitution, uploaded on the BCCI website, says: “Each State shall be represented by a state cricket association duly recognized by the BCCI and such associations shall be Full Members. No State shall have more than one Full Member at any given point of time,” was written in the new constitution.

Read more | IPL is not easy for bowlers: cricketer Harbhajan Singh

It goes on to say: “In States with multiple Existing Members, the full membership shall rotate annually among such Existing Members such that only one of them will exercise the rights and privileges of a Full Member at any given point of time. The rotation shall be as per the policy framed by the BCCI.”


The list of Full Members also includes the likes of Bihar, Telangana, Uttarakhand, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Meghalaya, none of which were Full Members in the past.

Read more | Bangladesh create history in 100th Test, beat Sri Lanka by four wickets

Besides Mumbai, Vidarbha, Saurashtra and Baroda missing out, founding members, Cricket Club of India (CCI) and National Cricket Club also miss out on the Full Members list.

Government institutes like Railways, Services and Universities also miss out on membership.


The new constitution clarifies previous debates on the nine-year clause for cricket administrators in the country.

After the Lodha Panel recommendations that administrators should only serve nine-year terms, some suggested the possibility of serving 18 years in cricket administration — nine years in state associations and nine years in BCCI.

Read more | Cheteshwar Pujara joins Sachin Tendulkar, Laxman in elite list after 202 knock

However, the new constitution clarifies that the proposed nine-year clause covers administration over BCCI and state associations collectively. A person can no longer work in cricket administration in the country once they have held office for nine years split in any way over office held in the BCCI and state associations.

“A person shall be disqualified from being an Office Bearer if he or she has been an Office Bearer of the BCCI for a period of 9 years or an office bearer of any Member for a period of 9 years,” was written in the constitution.

Read more | Umpire Chris Gaffaney provides comic relief in India vs Australia Ranchi Test

That point is further elaborated saying, “No person shall be an Office Bearer for more than 3 terms in all” and that “the Term of office of an Office Bearer shall be 3 years.”

Additional regulations concerning cricket administrators specified that they cannot be over the age of 70 and that they cannot be ministers or government servants while holding office in BCCI.

The three-year cooling off period for BCCI office bearers was also put into place with the new constitution.

First Published: Mar 19, 2017 18:30 IST