Big Bash League: Chris Lynn the six king, Perth Scorchers the team to beat

Ahead of the seventh edition of the Big Bash League (BBL), here’s a look at some of the best facts relating to the tournament.

cricket Updated: Dec 18, 2017 19:34 IST
Big Bash League,BBL,Chris Lynn
Chris Lynn has hit 94 sixes in the Big Bash League (BBL). (Twitter )

The Big Bash League (BBL) - Australia’s action-packed franchise Twenty20 tournament - returns on Tuesday with a Sydney derby between the Thunder and the Sixers.

Ahead of the competition’s seventh edition, we take a look at some of the best facts relating to the BBL.

(Read | ‘Proud’ Steve Smith hails Cricket Australia selectors after regaining Ashes)

3 - Perth Scorchers are the most successful BBL franchise with three titles. No other team has won the event more than once.

6 - Two bowlers have taken six wickets in a BBL innings. Adelaide Strikers spinner Ish Sodhi claimed outstanding figures of 6-11 against the Thunder in last season’s competition, yet even that was not enough to top Lasith Malinga’s absurd return of 6-7 for Melbourne Stars against the Scorchers in December 2012.

(Read | Kevin Pietersen makes fun of Joe Root, England fans go after former batsman)

69 - Ben Laughlin is comfortably the BBL’s most prolific wicket-taker. A haul of 69 scalps from 50 appearances puts him 15 clear of nearest rival Brad Hogg.

94 - Only three players have hit more than 50 sixes in the BBL. Aaron Finch and Chris Gayle boast 56 and 51 respectively, but Chris Lynn leads the way with a remarkable 94 at an average of just under two a match!

117 - Former England opener Luke Wright is responsible for the highest individual score, having hit 117 from just 60 balls in January 2012 for the Stars against Hobart Hurricanes.

223 - Hobart made the competition’s highest score last January, thumping 223-8 against Melbourne Renegades to overhaul a total of 222-4, which had previously represented a record.

1,608 - The number of BBL runs accumulated by the competition’s all-time leading scorer, Michael Klinger, who starred with 71 not out from 49 balls as the Scorchers stormed to a third title in four years by thumping the Sixers in last year’s final.

First Published: Dec 18, 2017 19:30 IST