HT Image
HT Image

Colts take centrestage in IPL auction

According to a BCCI source IPL's governing council has fixed the salary of Indian U-19 cricketers at a flat $30,000 for the first year of the T20 competition.
None | By HT Correspondent, New Delhi
UPDATED ON MAR 11, 2008 01:37 AM IST

The governing council of the Indian Premier League has fixed the salary of India's under-19 cricketers at a flat $30,000 for the first year of the Twenty20 competition, a highly placed BCCI source has revealed.

Virat Kohli and his band of boys will come up for selection through a draft system alongside the secondary auction on March 20. The source revealed that the IPL had taken into account the Rs 15 lakh cash award each of the players received, when pegging $30,000 as a fair fee for the under-19 players for the 44-day tournament.

Initially the IPL had fixed a base price of $20,000 for U-19 and U-22 players who had not played Ranji Trophy, but later decided that a bidding war for these youngsters was not the best way ahead. Instead, these fifteen players, plus the six standbys will go to different teams in the draft on March 20. The IPL decided to include all six standbys as it would be unfair to pick just one of those players and add them to the 15-man squad.

This means that franchisees will also have greater flexibility in choosing the type of player they want — fast bowler, spinner, batsman, wicketkeeper or allrounder — to complement their squads. Manpreet Juneja (Gujarat), Sumit Khatri and Mohammad Arif (Rajasthan), GVS Prasad and Prabhu Kiran (Andhra) and Vijay Kadbe (Vidarbha) are the six players to be added to the drafts.

The team getting first pick will also get sixteenth pick of players. The team getting second will be saddled with the fifteenth and so on. A draw of lots will decide the order in which teams pick their players. The remaining fifteen U-19 players are: Virat Kohli, Ravinder Jadeja, Siddarth Kaul, Ajitesh Argal, Napoleon Einstein, Shreevats Goswami, Perry Goyal, Iqbal Abdulla, Taruwar Kohli, Abhinav Mukund, Manish Pandey, Pradeep Sangwan, Duvvarappu Shivkumar, Tanmay Srivastava and Saurabh Tiwary.

Story Saved