India vs Australia: Steven Smith and Co. arrive for four-Test series

The Australian cricket team arrived in Mumbai on Monday for the four-Test series against India, starting in Pune on February 23

cricket Updated: Feb 13, 2017 20:11 IST
India vs Australia,Indian Cricket Team,Australian Cricket Team
The Australian cricket team were training in Dubai ahead of their Test series in India.(Cricket Australia )

The Australian cricket squad, led by Steve Smith, landed in Mumbai on Monday ahead of a four-Test series against India for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy commencing in Pune on February 23.

The Aussies reached Mumbai from Dubai where they had a training camp and drove down to a South Mumbai hotel where they will stay till they depart for Pune after playing a warm-up game against India A at the Cricket Club of India’s Brabourne Stadium.

The team is scheduled to have its first practice session at the Stadium on February 15.

Australia are touring India for a full Test series for the first time since they were blanked 4-0 by the hosts in the 2012-13 season.

Australia later defeated India 2-0 in a four-Test rubber played Down Under in the 2014-15 season.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (Capt), David Warner, Matthew Renshaw, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (WK), Steve O’Keefe, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Ashton Agar, Usman Khawaja, Jackson Bird, Mitchell Swepson, Glenn Maxwell.

Tour schedule: Feb 17-19: Practice match v India A in CCI, Mumbai; Feb 23-27: 1st Test, Pune; March 4-8: 2nd Test, Bengaluru; March 16-20: 3rd Test, Ranchi; March 25-29: 4th and final Test, Dharamshala.

First Published: Feb 13, 2017 20:04 IST