Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indian cricket team’s home fixtures vs Australia, New Zealand announced

The Indian cricket team will play five ODIs against Australia followed by three Twenty20 internationals, while the series against New Zealand will see Virat Kohli’s men play three ODIs and as many T20Is.

cricket Updated: Sep 07, 2017 22:39 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Indian cricket team,BCCI,India vs Australia
Virat Kohli-led India will play five ODIs and three T20Is against Australia, starting September 17. (REUTERS)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday announced the home fixtures for the upcoming series against Australia and New Zealand. The series against Australia will start on September 17.

Virat Kohli-led Indian cricket team will play five ODIs against Australia followed by three Twenty20 Internationals. Chennai, Kolkata, Indore, Bengaluru and Nagpur will host the ODIs while the T20Is will be hosted by Ranchi, Guwahati and Hyderabad. The venue in Guwahati will be Barsapara.

(Read | Seven fours and a six, how Virat Kohli crushed Sri Lanka in Colombo T20 - See video)

The home series against New Zealand will see India playing three ODIs and as many T20Is. The ODIs will be hosted by Mumbai, Pune and Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association while the T20Is will be hosted by Delhi, Rajkot and Thiruvananthapuram.

(Read | Did Virat Kohli really win toss in Colombo T20 vs Lanka? Video shows otherwise)

Here’s the complete itinerary –

Australia’s tour of India

Warm-up game – 12th September – Chennai

1st ODI – 17th September – Chennai

2nd ODI – 21th September – Kolkata

3rd ODI – 24th September – Indore

4th ODI – 28th September – Bengaluru

5th ODI – 1st October – Nagpur

1st T20I – 7th October – Ranchi

2nd T20I – 10th October – Guwahati

3rd T20I – 13th October – Hyderabad

(Read | Kuldeep Yadav, latest India spin sensation, revels at keeping batsmen guessing)

New Zealand’s tour of India

Warm-up game – 17th October – CCI, Mumbai

Warm-up game – 19th October – CCI, Mumbai

1st ODI – 22th October – Mumbai

2nd ODI – 25th October – Pune

3rd ODI – 29th October – UPCA

1st T20I – 1st November – Delhi

2nd T20I – 4th November – Rajkot

3rd T20I – 7th November – Thiruvananthapuram

(Read | Learn from Virat Kohli: Why Indian captain is a role model for world cricket)

The national selectors also named a depleted Board President’s XI squad to face Australia in a 50-over warm-up game at Chepauk on September 12.

Interestingly, Yuvraj Singh was left out, which once again indicated that selectors are looking towards the future.

MSK Prasad-led committee selected a 15-member team that had some of the Indian Premier League (IPL) performers like Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana and Washington Sundar.

Squad: Rahul Tripathi, Mayank Agarwal, Shivam Chaudhary, Washington Sundar, Nitish Rana, Govind Poddar, Gurkeerat Singh Mann (Captain), Shreevats Goswami, Rahil Shah, Akshay Karnewar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Kushang Patel, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma

First Published: Sep 07, 2017 22:11 IST