Bangladesh involved in argument with Sri Lanka in Nidahas T20, mars thriller

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka players offered differing views on a controversial last over finish where Shakib Al Hasan almost threatened to take his players off in the final league game of the Nidahas Trophy 2018 tri-series.

cricket Updated: Mar 17, 2018 10:37 IST
Siddharth Vishwanathan
Siddharth Vishwanathan
Hindustan Times, Colombo
Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh,Nidahas Trophy T20,Shakib Al Hasan
Bangladesh's Nurul Hasan, right, exchanges words with Sri Lanka's skipper Thisara Perera during their second Twenty20 cricket match in Nidahas Trophy T20 tri-series in Colombo. (AP)

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka players have given differing views on a controversial last over in the Nidahas Trophy fixture at the R Premadasa stadium on Friday which saw Bangladesh win by two wickets and enter the final. (HIGHLIGHTS)

The incident took place after the end of the second ball of the final over when Mustafizur Rahman was run-out. With the first two balls being bouncers, Bangladesh felt that the second ball should have been a no-ball but the umpires did not signal it. When some Bangladeshi substitute players engaged in a verbal joust with Sri Lanka’s Kusal Mendis, Shakib Al Hasan, the Bangladesh skipper standing near the boundary, angrily told his players to come off the field. (SCORES)

With Khaled Mahmud diffusing the tensions, Mahmudullah took Bangladesh over the line with a four and a six off Isuru Udana to set-up a final showdown against India in the final on Sunday.

Speaking about the incident, Kusal Perera, who slammed 61 and helped Sri Lanka recover to 159/7, was asked whether the leg umpire had signaled a no-ball. “I think the head umpire did not call second bouncer. So I feel that is a legal delivery,” Kusal Perera said, sounding very unsure.

(Read | Mahmudullah brilliance helps Bangladesh seal thriller vs Sri Lanka to enter Nidahas Trophy final)

However, Shakib, the Bangladesh skipper, had a different take on the entire matter. “The square leg umpire had signaled it a no-ball and then upon discussions, changed the call, which I don’t think is the right decision. I don’t know if the first bouncer was called as one for the over but when the second bouncer was bowled, the umpire did call it a no-ball,” Shakib said.

Later, photos emerged of broken glass panels in Bangladesh cricket team’s pavilion.

A picture taken on Friday shows damages after celebrations in the Bangladesh cricket team pavilion its win over Sri Lanka at the R. Premadasa stadium in Colombo. (AFP)

(Read | Nidahas Trophy: Tamim Iqbal fifty guides Bangladesh to victory over Sri Lanka)

On asked whether the Bangladesh skipper had a word with the umpires, he replied, “The on-field umpires can say better because I haven’t had a word with them. The fourth umpire hasn’t said anything specific to me. Only the umpire can say (why the no-ball was overturned).”

Bangladesh secured their third straight win over Sri Lanka at the R Premadasa stadium and will now be looking to break their losing streak against India, but this incident soured what was otherwise a classic match.

First Published: Mar 17, 2018 00:05 IST