Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 17, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

NZ cruise past Kenya to win by 9 wkts

Danied Vettori celebrates his elevation as New Zealand's Test captain as they bowl out Kenya for 73. Read on...

cricket Updated: Sep 12, 2007 19:34 IST

New Zealand crushed minnows Kenya by nine wickets as they chased down the modest total of 73 runs in just 7.5 overs.

Earlier, Danied Vettori celebrated his elevation as New Zealand's Test captain by bowling out Kenya for 73 in the Twenty20 world championships at Kingsmead on Wednesday.

The left-arm spinner, who won the toss and elected to field, took 2-18 and seamer Mark Gillespie claimed a record 4-7 in 2.5 overs as Kenya fell for the lowest ever Twenty20 international total.

Kenya lost the first three wickets without a run on the board, slipped to 4-1 before Collins Obuya and Thomas Odoyo put on 36 for the fifth wicket.

Both batsmen made 18 runs each but it was not enough to help the Africans put up a reasonable total to challenge New Zealand.

Vettori, who already captains New Zealand in one-day and Twenty20 cricket, replaced the long-serving Stephen Fleming as Test skipper earlier on Wednesday.

Fast bowler Shane Bond struck with the first delivery of the match when he bowled Maurice Ouma and then dismissed Tanmay Mishra off his fifth ball.

Gillespie removed David Obuya and captain Steve Tikolo in his first over and returned to polish off the tail to return the best figures ever in Twenty20 cricket.

Bond, Vettori and Chris Martin took two wickets each as Kenya were shot out in 16.5 overs.

The previous lowest T20 total was 79 by Australia against England at the Rose Bowl in 2005. England captain Paul Collingwood had the best figures of 4-22.

The 12-nation tournament features the nine Test nations currently playing Test cricket along with Zimbabwe, Kenya and Scotland.

Hosts South Africa defeated the West Indies by eight wickets in Tuesday's opening match at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.


New Zealand: 1 Brendon McCullum (wk), 2 Lou Vincent, 3 Jacob Oram, 4 Peter Fulton, 5 Ross Taylor, 6 Scott Styris, 7 Craig McMillan , 8 Daniel Vettori (capt), 9 Shane Bond, 10 Mark Gillespie, 11 Jeetan Patel

Kenya: 1 David Obuya, 2 Collins Obuya, 3 Tanmay Mishra, 4 Steve Tikolo (capt), 5 Thomas Odoyo, 6 Alex Obanda, 7 Jimmy Kamande, 8 Rajesh Bhudia, 9 Maurice Ouma (wk), 10 Nehemiah Odhiambo, 11 Peter Ongondo.

First Published: Sep 12, 2007 13:48 IST