Orange Cap IPL 2024: Virat Kohli reclaims top position despite RCB's third defeat | Cricket - Hindustan Times

Orange Cap IPL 2024: Virat Kohli reclaims top position despite RCB's third defeat

Apr 03, 2024 07:24 AM IST

Orange Cap IPL 2024: Virat Kohli reclaimed the pole position in the Orange Cap list by taking his tally to over 200 runs in 4 games.

Orange Cap IPL 2024: Virat Kohli took the IPL 2024 Orange Cap back even though he didn't do much with the bat in Royal Challengers Bengaluru's 28-run loss to Lucknow Super Giants on Tuesday. Kohli, who dropped to second allowing Riyan Parag to take the Orange Cap with an unbeaten half-century against Mumbai Indians on Monday, was back in pole position scoring 22 off 16 balls and taking his overall run tally to 203 runs in the IPL 2024 Orange Cap list.

Orange Cap IPL 2024: Virat Kohli once again is in possession of the Orange Cap. (IPL Twitter)
Orange Cap IPL 2024: Virat Kohli once again is in possession of the Orange Cap. (IPL Twitter)

While Parag with 181 runs is second, Heinrich Klaasen of Sunrisers Hyderabad continues to be third. There is a new No. 4 in the list, with Nicholas Pooran's unbeaten 40 taking his run rally in the Orange Cap list to 146. He is joined by LSG teammate Quinton de Kock who enters the top five after a cracking half-century last evening. Shikhar Dhawan has been pushed down to 6, and David Warner at 7 in the Orange Cap standings for IPL 2024.

HT launches Crick-it, a one stop destination to catch Cricket, anytime, anywhere. Explore now!

The IPL's Orange Cap, awarded to the season's leading run-scorer, has witnessed some prolific displays. David Warner reigns supreme with three caps, but Virat Kohli's 2016 IPL holds a special place in history. Kohli amassed a staggering 973 runs, including a record-breaking four centuries, en route to his Orange Cap.

Orange Cap history

A total of 13 players have etched their names as the IPL's top scorer, a prestigious list featuring legends like Sachin Tendulkar and rising stars like Shubman Gill. The inaugural year (2008) saw Shaun Marsh of Punjab Kings (then Kings XI Punjab) become the first Orange Cap holder with a mammoth 616 runs, surpassing Gautam Gambhir and Sanath Jayasuriya. The following year, Australian great Matthew Hayden donned the Orange Cap with 572 runs in 12 matches.

The year 2010 witnessed batting icon Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) reaching the peak with 618 runs across 15 games. The year 2011 belonged to the 'Universe Boss', Chris Gayle. The West Indian maestro dominated the Orange Cap race, scoring 608 runs in 12 matches for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gayle cemented his legacy by becoming the first player to retain the Orange Cap in 2012, smashing a record 733 runs in 15 games. The 2013 season saw another Chennai Super Kings star, Michael Hussey, dethrone Gayle. He amassed a phenomenal 733 runs in 17 games, securing his place as the leading run-scorer.

IPL 2024
Are you a cricket buff? Participate in the HT Cricket Quiz daily and stand a chance to win an iPhone 15 & Boat Smartwatch. Click here to participate now.

Stay updated with the latest Cricket News, IPL Live Score, PBKS vs MI Live Score and get exclusive insights with the IPL Match Today, IPL Points Table match highlights, and more. Explore a comprehensive Cricket Schedule, track the race for the Purple Cap and IPL Orange Cap in IPL 2024, check Virat Kohli performance and stay ahead with all the cricket-related updates on the Hindustan Times website and app.
Share this article

    At HT Sports Desk, passionate reporters work round the clock to provide detailed updates from the world of sports. Expect nuanced match reports, previews,reviews, technical analysis based on statistics, the latest social media trends, expert opinions on cricket, football, tennis, badminton, hockey,motorsports, wrestling, boxing, shooting, athletics and much more.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, April 18, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On