New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 17, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Sep 17, 2019

Pat Cummins, Hilton Cartwright in Australia ODI squad for New Zealand series

Pat Cummins, who missed most of 2016 due to injury, has been included in the Australia team for the ODI series against New Zealand along with uncapped pacer Hilton Cartwright.

cricket Updated: Nov 23, 2016 09:58 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hilton Cartwright, who plays for Western Australia, has been included in the Australia squad for the New Zealand series.
Hilton Cartwright, who plays for Western Australia, has been included in the Australia squad for the New Zealand series.(Getty Images)

Australia have included uncapped Western Australia pace bowler Hilton Cartwright along with pace bowler Pat Cummins for the three-match Chappell-Hadlee ODI series against New Zealand starting on December 4.

Cummins, who last played an ODI for Australia in 2015 against England, missed most of the 2015/16 season due to a stress fracture on his back. However, he made a strong comeback in the 2016 domestic Matador Cup one-dayers, picking up 15 wickets for New South Wales as they won the tournament.

The selection of Zimbabwe-born Cartwright for the ODIs is slightly surprising as he picked up only four wickets in six domestic one-dayers for Western Australia at an economy rate of close to seven.

Speaking on the selection, Cricket Australia’s interim chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns said, “Hilton bowls useful aggressive medium-pace and is a very good striker of the ball. He is an exciting young prospect and we have been watching him at the pathway level for some time.”

Hohns was satisfied that Cummins had made a full recovery after a frustrating international career that has seen him play only one Test and 18 ODIs.

The squad also sees the return of Glenn Maxwell, who scored a 100 and a 50 in the T20I series against Sri Lanka. The right-hander was not picked for the South Africa ODIs in which Australia were whitewashed 5-0 for the first time.

Australia will play three ODIs against New Zealand. The first ODI will take place in Sydney on December 4, followed by an ODI on December 6 at the Manuka Oval in Canberra. The final match will take place in Melbourne on December 9. Currently, the Chappell-Hadlee trophy resides with New Zealand after they defeated Australia 2-1 in February 2016.

Australia ODI squad for New Zealand ODIs

David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith (c), George Bailey, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Hilton Cartwright, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

First Published: Nov 23, 2016 09:40 IST