Bangladesh’s Soumya Sarkar takes DRS faux pas to next level, gets trolled: Watch
Soumya Sarkar is one of Bangladesh’s most reliable batsmen. But he is not so reliable while taking DRS calls it seems, as he in all probability became the first international cricketer to take review after getting bowled during Bangladesh’s first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle.
The astonishing event happened on the second ball of the fifth day with Sarkar batting on 53. He failed to judge the line of a delivery from right-arm medium pacer Asela Gunaratne as the ball clipped the top of his off stump.
With Bangladesh chasing a massive target of 457, opener Sarkar’s wicket was crucial. But what he did after getting bowled was astonishing - he went for a review! Even commentators were surprised by his decision, as replays showed he was clean bowled.
There was an opinion that he was checking for caught behind but how he could miss a bowled decision is beyond comprehension.
Bangladesh failed to recover from the shock and were all out for 197 as Sri Lanka won the match by 259 runs. Kusal Mendis was declared the Man of the Match for scoring 194 in the first innings. Sri Lanka have now taken a 1-0 lead in the two-Test series.
The 24-year-old Sarkar, who has played six Tests, 20 ODIs and 22 T20Is for Bangladesh, was not spared by Twitteratis for his mistake.